Village Timeline

Time Line

This timeline is by no means complete but instead represents “a work in progress.” Additions will be made as further research is undertaken. To contribute information or to seek clarification, please contact kswim@nb.sympatico.ca.  We’d love to hear from you and would welcome your input, particularly in terms of any “heritage” photos you’d like to share.   

1765 – October 31: Scotsmen William Davidson (1740-1790) of Inverness and John Cort of Aberdeen are granted a 100,000 acre township on the Miramichi River. Note: Davidson’s original land grant extended from the forks of the Miramichi where the Northwest and the Southwest Miramichi unite, up both of those rivers in a block some 14 square miles. In addition to the land itself, the partners were granted fishing and lumbering rights on condition that they clear and improve the land and establish one Protestant settler for every two acres. Davidson hoped to establish a salmon fishery in the area but was to suffer many setbacks as a result of bad weather, privateers and the American Revolution.
1783 – May: The first ships carrying approximately 7,000 United Empire Loyalists arrive in Parrtown (Saint John) from American ports.

Ephraim Betts, a sergeant in the 2nd Battalion of DeLancy’s Regiment in the Revolutionary War, settles in Fredericton where he finds employment as a tanner and cordwainer as well as the York County jailer.

1784:  New Brunswick is divided into eight counties, including Northumberland County in which the communities which came to be known as Doaktown, Blackville and Boiestown are located.
1785 – September 30:  New Brunswick Governor Thomas Carleton authorizes the issuance of full rations for 2,000 newly-arrived Loyalists to help them through the winter.
1790 – June 18: William Davidson, one of the first lumber barons of the Miramichi, dies as a result of a cold caught one night in February when he and a companion are forced to spend the night in a haystack. He is generally believed to have paved the way for a strong Scottish migration to the Miramichi.
1795: Ephraim Betts and five other men petition for and receive land between the Nashwaak Portage and the Etienne or Cain’s River at the location that came to be known as Betts Settlement. He moves his family there and is considered to have been the area’s first inhabitant.
1795 – October:  Nancy Mitchell (b. March 19. 1776), the eldest of eleven children born to Sarah (Crabtree) and Lewis Mitchell, marries John Munroe (b. circa 1774), the son of Mary and Evan Munroe, in Maugerville, Sunbury County, NB. The couple later move to Blissfield Parish where they raise eleven children.
1800: William Mitchell (b. in 1779 at Grimross, or Gagetown as it was later known), the eldest son of Sarah (Crabtree) and Lewis Mitchell, comes to the Miramichi at the age of 21 when he is granted land on the north side of the Miramichi River at Doaktown. Between 1800 and 1857, William holds various civic posts including Constable, Overseer of Fisheries, Overseer of Roads, and Overseer of the Poor.
1800 – January 25: Samuel Betts, Senior born, the son of Jared Betts (mother unknown at this time) and a great-nephew of Ephraim Betts.
1801: Benjamin Davis (b. in 1769 in Salisbury, Massachusetts, the son of Abel Davis, Senior), who served in the 1st New Jersey Volunteers, comes to the Miramichi with his sister in 1801 where he is granted Lot 44 south side (roughly where the former Doaktown High School now stands). Davis builds two log houses on the site, one of which he used as the region’s first hotel.
1804: William Mitchell (formerly of Grimross/Gagetown but a resident of the Doaktown area since 1800) marries Susannah Sutter, the daughter of Susannah (White Fullerton) and James Sutter, Senior. The Doaktown Review (1902) notes that “[William Mitchell] married a girl who, at the age of 14, snowshoed over the Portage to make a home with her husband. She was known as “Aunt Sukey” (or “Sookie”) Mitchell and died at the age of 98 [sic].” The couple settles on that part of the Miramichi once known as the “Melvin Property” and had six children: James Sangster Mitchell, Stephen Mitchell, Frances (“Fanny”) Mitchell, Lewis Mitchell, Charles Mitchell, and Jane L. Mitchell.
1809 – June 20:  Ephraim Betts formally registers his settlement, the first allocation of land on the Upper Southwest Miramichi River. At this time there are 60 families living in the “upper settlement area” of what was still known as the Parish of Newcastle. All of these families are under the leadership of Mr. Betts, who later became Overseer of the Poor, Overseer of the Fisheries, Commissioner of Roads, and Justice of the Peace. Also in 1809, Betts is promoted to the rank of captain in the 1st Battalion of Northumberland County militia. A sword said to have belonged to Ephraim Betts is on display at the Doak Provincial Heritage Site.
1809 – August: Members of the Porter family petition for land that later became known as the settlement of Boiestown (Source: A History of Early Boiestown, 1987).
1810 -: The parishes of Ludlow and Blissfield are established in Northumberland County. Note (1): The former is believed to have been derived from either — or both — of the following: Gabriel George Ludlow (1736-1808), Administrator of the Government of New Brunswick in 1803, or George Duncan Ludlow (1734-1808), Chief Justice of New Brunswick. Note (2): The Parish of Blissfield is believed to have been named in honor of Jonathan Bliss (October 1, 1742 – October 1, 1822) who was a well-known lawyer, judge and political figure in New Brunswick at that time. Bliss was named Chief Justice of New Brunswick in 1809 and was appointed to the Executive Council of New Brunswick. However, he remained a judge until his death in 1822 at the age of 80 supposedly because the government of the day was not prepared to grant him a pension.
1811 -:  The earliest grants (comprising 200 acres each) in what is now Boiestown are allotted to Samuel and William Porter, the sons of John Porter, Senior of Penniac. Their petition for land indicates that Samuel was only 17 and William 19 at the time of their application.
1815 –:  Ben Davis is believed to have built the first blacksmith shop in the Doaktown area (Source: The Doaktown Review, March 28, 1902).
1815 –:  Joseph Storey, Senior (b. circa 1794 in England) arrives, the first known Storey to settle in the Doaktown area of the Miramichi. He marries Christy Ann McDonald and has seven children: Benjamin, Isabella Caroline, Susannah Christy, Joseph Junior, Joshua (b. circa 1835), Mary Jane and Peter (b. circa 1842).
1816 -:  Ephraim Betts begins to experience financial difficulties.
1816 -:  Daniel Porter receives a 200 acre grant in the Upper Southwest Miramichi. Together with the land grants awarded in 1811 to Samuel and William Porter and that later granted to Christopher Young on Burnt Land Brook, this property became the nucleus of the Village of Boiestown. Note: Others receiving grants in the Boiestown district but outside this immediate area were James Fairley, Miles MacMillan, James Porter, Anthony Lockwood, and John Porter.
1817 -: Lewis Holmes (b. in Sharon, Massachusetts on July 26, 1797) arrives in Doaktown (the first Holmes to settle in this part of New Brunswick) to engage in the lumber business. It is said that he tried to encourage some of his American relatives to relocate with him but they retorted that “Massachusetts was good enough for them.”
1818 – July 2: Sarah Ann Munroe (b. 1803 in Blackville), the daughter of Nancy (Mitchell) and John Munroe, granddaughter of Sarah (Crabtree) and Lewis Mitchell, marries John Walls (b. 1792), the son of Charlotte (Brown) and James Walls) in Ludlow Parish. The couple will have nine children.
1818 – July 2:  Susan Munroe (b. 1802), the daughter of Nancy (Mitchell) and John Munroe, granddaughter of Sarah (Crabtree) and Lewis Mitchell, marries John Bamford (b. March 4, 1794 in Balltown, Lincoln County, Maine), one of the first Bamfords to s settle in the Doaktown area. The marriage was performed by Ephraim Betts. Note: If these dates are accurate, Susan (Munroe) Bamford was married on the same day as her younger sister, Sarah Ann (Munroe) Walls. The Bamford homestead farm is believed to have been on the south side of the Southwest Miramichi (at Doaktown). Off the lower part of the South Road about 25 feet from shore is a rock referred to as the “Bamford Rock” where members of the Bamford family sought safety during the “Great Miramichi Fire” in 1825. John and Susan Bamford had 13 children, six sons and seven daughters: Mary Ann, Elizabeth Maria (“Betsy”), John Thomas, Jane, Susannah, Rebecca Ann, George Munroe, Emily Thompson, James, Sarah Ann, Charles, Enoch, and David.
1818 -: John MacAllister (b. circa 1791 in Scotland) is believed to have built the first grist mill in the Doaktown area. The mill was water-driven and thought to have been located near to what later became known as “Fowler Brook” on the South Road. It was on this same property that Arthur Attridge later built his famous Hydraulic Fish.
1818 – July 27: Mary Lyons marries her first husband, Thomas Amos. The ceremony is performed by Ephraim Betts, Justice of the Peace. The witnesses are David and William Lyons, possibly the bride’s brothers.
1818 – September 22: Rebecca Munroe (b. circa 1798), the daughter of Nancy (Mitchell) and John Munroe, granddaughter of Sarah (Crabtree) and Lewis Mitchell, marries Hugh McGraw (b. August 8, 1798), the son of Flora and Alexander McGraw, in Ludlow. The couple would go on to have five children.
1818 – October 8:  Peter Squires had been a corporal in the Prince of Wales American Regiment. He first settled on the Nashwaak River but came to the Miramichi in 1795 as one of Ephraim Betts’ “Associates” to whom land was granted by the Crown. He does not appear to have married and it may be because he himself had no heirs that he turned over his land to Thomas Amos on October 8, 1818. Thomas paid the sum of 200 pounds and agreed to take “the said Peter for the remainder of his life and him to furnish with suitable and comfortable feeding, clothing, lodging, washing and tobacco, and at his death to bury him with Christian decency agreeable to the established Church of England” (Source: Amos Family History, p. 3). This area later became known as Amostown” and is located just on the up-river outskirts of the Village of Doaktown.
1819 – April: John Munroe (b. circa 1774), the husband of Nancy (Mitchell) Munroe, dies and is buried in the Sutter Family Cemetery on what is known as “the old Sutter place” in Doaktown.
1820 –:  A scow ferry is established in Doaktown where in later years a car bridge was erected. The ferry was owned and operated by Henry Swim (1792-1873) and stayed in place until 1847 when the first bridge was built.
1820 -: The first known sawmills in the Blackville area are established by three Scotsmen, Robert Doak and his brother James, and Alexander MacLaggan.
1820 – February 2:  Following the death of her first husband, John Munroe, in 1819, Nancy (Mitchell) Munroe marries David Wallace (b. 1768 in Doaktown) and moves to Carroll, Maine.
1820 – May 22:  The Executive Council authorizes payment for a mail courier between Fredericton and Newcastle/Chatham.
1821 – Summer:  Thomas Boies, a 32 year old American from Bedford, New Hampshire, arrives on the Miramichi (Thomas’ father, John Boies, had been a soldier who had fought with George Washington’s army at Valley Forge).
1822 -: The first school house is built in Doaktown (thought to have been on the South Road, somewhere in the vicinity of the former Russell homestead).
1822 – December 5:  Samuel Betts, Senior (b. January 25, 1800, the son of Jared Betts and great- nephew of Ephraim Betts) marries Jane (“Jenny”) Lyons (b. December 5, 1822). Note: Jenny was a sister of Mary Lyons who had married Thomas Amos in 1818.
1823 -:  “The Great Road,” which was cut through the woods between Fredericton and Newcastle, is begun in the spring of 1823 under the supervision of Squire Robert Doak who was Overseer of Highways for the district at the time. This route, which connected the region with mail and passenger service, remained in use for some 60 years until the coming of the railroad in the 1880s.
1823 – June 19:  Agnes Doak (b. August 17, 1792, the younger sister of Squire Robert Doak) marries as her second husband, Henry Swim. Richard Price, Justice of the Peace, performed the ceremony with the witnesses being William and David Masterson). Note: Agnes’ first husband, Henry Dawson, whom she had married in Scotland, is believed to have died in a street riot (date and place unknown). Agnes had accompanied her brother and the rest of her family to the Miramichi circa 1820.
1824 -:  The first official census for the Doaktown area shows 154 families residing in the district with 156 houses already standing and an additional 18 under construction.
1824 – January 4: Peter Mitchell, Premier, Senator, Father of Confederation, is born in Newcastle.
1824 – August 21: Major-General Sir Howard Douglas (January 23, 1776 – November 9, 1861), the newly-appointed Governor of New Brunswick, arrives in the Province. During his time as Governor, Sir Howard takes charge during the disastrous Great Miramichi Fire of 1825, his decisive action doing much to much to increase his popularity with the people of New Brunswick. In 1828 he dealt with the Maine boundary dispute, the same year as he helped to establish King’s College, a precursor of the University of New Brunswick. The Sir Howard Douglas Hall (commonly referred to as The Old Arts Building) was completed in 1827 and named after him. It is currently the oldest university building still in use in Canada.
1824 – October 21:  James Peter Mitchell (b. October 2, 1800 in Ludlow Parish), the tenth of eleven children born to Sarah (Crabtree) and Lewis Mitchell, marries Mary H. Mooers (b. July 6, 1809 in Blissfield), the daughter of Hannah (Smith) and David Mooers. Mary (Mooers) and James Mitchell would go on to have ten children.
 1825 -:  Squire Robert Doak is believed to have purchased the property on which the Doak Historic Site now sits from the estate of Ephraim Betts. (Source: Margaret Doak, published by The Atlantic Advocate, September 1967).
1825 – July 11:  Lewis Holmes, the first Holmes to settle in the Doaktown area, marries Rachel Betts (b. in Doaktown on June 26, 1809), the daughter of Rachel (Munroe) and Whalen Betts. The couple was to have 11 children.
1825 – October 7:  The Great Miramichi Fire (ranking among the three largest forest fires ever recorded in North America) sweeps through the communities of Newcastle, Douglastown, Black River and Napan, killing 160 people, leaving 15,000 homeless and destroying 6,000 square kilometers of woodland (almost one-fifth of the Province’s forests). Fortunately, settlements on the upper Southwest Miramichi River such as Doaktown and Boiestown are only mildly affected. The blaze is partly attributed to unusually hot weather in the summer and fall of 1825, coupled with outdoor fires set by settlers and loggers. Sir Howard Douglas, Governor of New Brunswick, arrives from Fredericton to offer his help. He calls on England, the United States and other parts of Canada to send money, food and clothing, all of which are badly needed with another harsh New Brunswick winter fast approaching. The communities rebuilt after the fire but many families, disheartened by the loss of relatives, friends and belongings, moved away, some to Quebec and Upper Canada, others to the eastern United States, Minnesota, and Wisconsin. Although the area’s lumber industry recovered, the fire is considered responsible for the end of the lucrative mast-making industry on the Miramichi. For many years after this tragedy, the people of the area did not eat on October 7 and all shops closed in remembrance.
1827 – June 28:  Margaret Green (b. 1807 in Blackville), the daughter of Sarah (Mitchell) and Andrew Green, granddaughter of Sarah (Crabtree) and Lewis Mitchell, marries Thomas Dunphy (b. 1800), the son of Thomas Dunphy, in Blackville. The couple would have seven children.
1827 – September 20: Peter Harris (who is believed to have been born in “Upper Canada” circa 1807) receives a piece of land — with no strings attached — from his father-in-law, William Mitchell “in consideration of the love and affection I bear unto [my daughter, Fanny].” Peter married Frances (“Fanny”) Mitchell on September 20, 1827.
1829 –:  Reverend James Tozer is instrumental in organizing Baptist churches in the Blackville, Blissfield and Ludlow areas.
1829 -:  William McNamee (b. in 1807 in County Donegal, Northern Ireland) comes to New Brunswick where he works for a lumbering concern owned by the Fairley brothers of Boiestown. Before long, he goes into the lumbering business for himself and was joined by the rest of his family – his parents, three sisters and a brother.
1830 -: Unsubstantiated reports indicate that the site of the present Doaktown United Baptist Church was the location of a “community” church, the first such gathering place in the Village. From information gathered from a pamphlet prepared for the Church’s 100th anniversary, it is believed that the site was used as a communal “meeting house” beginning in the 1830’s. In an article published in the Atlantic Advocate (September 1967), Ms. Margaret (“Maggie”) Doak states that “Squire Doak [1785-1857] made a lasting impression on the settlement [of Doaktown]. He contributed generously to the religious and educational life of the community. For instance, he made a gift of the land where the present Baptist Church and primary school now stand.” 
1830 -:  The Parish of Blackville is established.
1830-:  The Executive Council for the Province of New Brunswick recommends to the Legislative Assembly that laws be passed to remove all civil and military liabilities from Roman Catholics.
1830 – March 7:  Lewis Mitchell dies at the age of 92 and is buried on what was referred to as “the old Clark place” (now owned by the Miramichi Salmon Club), just down river from the Mitchell Cemetery. Note: Lewis and his wife Sarah (Crabtree) Mitchell had moved to the Doaktown area from Grimross (Gagetown) circa 1800. They had seven children, the eldest of whom, William Mitchell, had married Susannah (“Sukie”) Sutter in 1804.
1830 – July 15:  Phoebe Green (b. circa 1810), the daughter of Sarah (Mitchell) and Andrew Green, granddaughter of Sarah (Crabtree) and Lewis Mitchell, marries Robert Dunphy, the son of Thomas Dunphy, in Blackville. The couple have three children.
1831 -:  In 1831 the teachers employed in the Doaktown area included Ebenezer PackardThomas Collier and Harvey Garcelon.
1831 –: Mary (Lyons) Amos marries as her second husband Patrick Kinchella (Mary’s first husband had been Thomas Amos, who she had married in 1818). It is believed that Kinchella had been “a principal actor in the late riots [of 1822] and . . . had absconded after assaulting the constable who had a warrant to arrest him.” (Source: Over the Portage (Revised), p. 56, by William MacKinnon). Whether the riots had been in East Anglia or in Ireland is unknown, but it is entirely possible that Kinchella fled to Canada – and to the Miramichi – to escape punishment.
1832 -:  In 1832 the teachers employed in the Doaktown area included John HincheyJames DeBourke, and Ebenezer Packard.
1832 – March 30: The Bank of Nova Scotia is incorporated.
1833 -:  In 1833 the Doaktown teachers were John Hinchey and John Sevenwright.
1833 -:  In an Historical Sketch as to the Origin and Growth of the Doaktown United Baptist Church (1902), written in part by Mrs. F. D. Swim, it is noted that a Reverend Mr. Bruce “came down the Miramichi Valley preaching the Gospel of Jesus Christ to the scattered settlers. Among his converts was Susannah Mitchell, who was a pioneer settler . . . in 1833 she was baptized by Rev. Mr. Magee . . .” Susannah (Sutter) Mitchell, wife of William Mitchell, would have been roughly 54 years old at the time of her baptism.
1834 –: The Parish of Ludlow is divided into three smaller components; namely, the Parish of Ludlow, the Parish of Blissfield, and the Parish of Blackville. Note: The Village of Doaktown is located within the Parish of Blissfield.
1834 –: John DeCantillon marries Nancy Fowler who was originally from Prince Edward Island and had been married to Zacheus Fowler (d. 1831) with whom she had had a son, Elijah Fowler (b. 1827). John DeCantillon was a farmer and innkeeper – the Dictionary of Miramichi Biography records that he was “the proprietor of a roadhouse and tavern at the village of Blissfield, six miles downriver from Doaktown.” Note: This roadhouse stood on the site of the present Stewart Walls’ home. Reference to “Decantlin’s” was made in Hedley Parker’s poem, “The Days of Duffy Gillis,” which was set in the mid-1860’s, and in 1839 the Fredericton Sentinel reported that DeCantillon’s was the best house between Fredericton and Newcastle with the exception of the inns at Boiestown. Nothing more is known except that Nancy DeCantillon died at Doaktown in 1888 at which time the Union Advocate noted that she had been the “hostess of Decantillon’s hotel in the days of stagecoaches and had kept the best house on the river.” DeCantillon was Catholic and his wife a Presbyterian. Her name and dates appear on the tombstone of her son Elijah Fowler and his wife in the United Church cemetery in Newcastle.
1834 – March 22: New Marriage Act is adopted by the New Brunswick Legislature allowing clergy of dissenting churches to perform marriages.
1835 – August 6: Sarah Mooers (b. July 12, 1812 in Blackville), the daughter of Rebecca Ludlow (Mitchell) and Nathaniel Mooers and the granddaughter of Sarah (Crabtree) and Lewis Mitchell, marries Benjamin Mountain (b. 1809 in Blackville). The couple have 12 children; their second eldest being Mary R. Mountain (b. May 9, 1838) who is believed to have married Robert Doak Robinson, grandson of Margaret (Doak) and William Robinson, and great-grandson of Jean (Kirkland) and Squire Robert Doak.
1837 – March 2: Lavinia Munroe (b. circa 1814 in Ludlow Parish), the daughter of Nancy (Mitchell) and John Munroe; granddaughter of Sarah (Crabtree) and Lewis Mitchell, marries Daniel Small (b. 1809 in Blissfield), the son of Mary Susanna (Mitchell) and Thomas Small. Note: Daniel Small would have been Lavinia’s first cousin, being the son of Mary Susanna (Mitchell) Small, Lavinia’s aunt. Lavinia and Daniel Small have seven children, the last two being born in Maine.
1837 – May 15: 125 acres of land in the Parish of Blackville are granted to William Idear in return for services rendered in the army. Dr. Idear was an Englishman who practiced medicine in the Blackville area and from a nearby island obtained herbs from which he prepared his own medicines – hence the name “Doctor’s Island.” The doctor married a woman whose first name was “Leah” (surname unknown at this time) and had three children, two daughters and a son. One of the daughters, Isabella, never married but was known as the “Belle Doctor” because she practiced midwifery in the Doaktown area. She died at the Chatham Alms House circa 1913 at the age of 90 and is buried in the St. Paul’s Churchyard in Chatham. A second daughter Margaretta (“Maggie”) Idear was married to Alexander Allison on November 19, 1879 by Reverend William Edwards at the residence of Thomas Sutherland of Blissfield. The couple lived in Doaktown and is buried in the Baptist Cemetery (unfortunately their gravesites have no visible markers). Doctor Idear’s son was named John Alexander Hay Cunard Idear and was born on May 29, 1836 (no further details are known at this time). The Chatham Gleaner records the death of Doctor William Idair [sic] on September 26, 1856 at the age of 55 in Blackville. The report noted that Dr. Idear was “one of our heaviest men, his actual weight being 430 pounds.” It is not known at this time where either the Doctor or his wife is buried. Source: Central Miramichi Historical Society Newsletter, dated July 1978.
1837 – June 8:  Charles Mitchell (b. circa 1814), son of Susannah (Sutter) and William Mitchell; grandson of Sarah (Crabtree) and Lewis Mitchell, marries Mary Ann Abenathy (b. 1821), the daughter of Mary (Young) and William Abernathy) from Nashwaak. The couple will have nine children.
1837 – October 9:  Joseph Storey, Senior (the first known Storey to settle in the Doaktown area of the Miramichi) finally – after three previous attempts – receives a grant of 160 acres of land on the north side of the Southwest Miramichi River, adjacent to property owned by David Betts.
1838 – June 28: Queen Victoria is crowned.
1839 -:  About this time Joseph Cunard is sent by his brother Samuel Cunard of Halifax to establish a branch of the Cunard Brothers shipbuilding business in Miramichi as well as at Richibucto, Kouchibouguac and Bathurst. In 1839 the company was successful in obtaining a contract from the British Government for carrying the mails by steamship.
1839 – April 2:  Nancy Mooers (b. 1824), the daughter of Rebecca Ludlow (Mitchell) and Nathaniel Mooers; the granddaughter of Sarah (Crabtree) and Lewis Mitchell, marries John Gilks (possibly born in 1808 in Bedford, England) in Blissfield. The couple have 12 children.
1839 –November:  Stephen M. Mitchell (b. 1806), the son of Susannah (Sutter) and William Mitchell; grandson of Sarah (Crabtree) and Lewis Mitchell, marries Margaret (“Mary”) Urquhart (b. 1817), the daughter of Alexander Urquhart of Nashwaak (the groom was about 34; his bride was 23).
1840s -:  The 1840’s brought a great recession to the communities along the Miramichi, with many families moving away from the Miramichi to Maine. Some lost their farms, having mortgaged them for cash or farming materials, or both.
1840 -:  Squire Doak’s eldest daughter, Margaret Doak, marries as her third husband, Hiram Freeze. Note (1): Margaret had been previously married to John Wesley Robertson and to William Robinson. Note (2): No record of Hiram and Margaret’s marriage has yet been found; however, their son Samuel Freeze was born in 1843 so presumably the marriage took place circa 1840-41. Hiram Freeze had a farm at Doaktown and was the postal way office keeper and postmaster from 1854 to 1883. He was appointed a Justice of the Peace in 1855. His fine penmanship may be seen in the Census returns for 1871, for which he was an enumerator. He and Margaret (a leading Baptist churchwoman in Blissfield Parish) raised two children surnamed Robinson (Robert and William) and three surnamed Freeze: (1) Samuel Freeze; (2) Jane Freeze; and (3) Margaret Ann Freeze.
1840 – April 1: Agnes (Doak Dawson) Swim, who had married Henry Swim in 1823 and had given birth to seven children, dies at the age of 48. Note: Agnes was the sister of Squire Robert Doak.
1840 – September 23:  Isabella Caroline Storey (b. 1825), the eldest daughter of Christy Ann (McDonald) and Joseph Storey, the first known Storey on the Miramichi, marries Horace Austin (the bride was only 15; her groom was 20). Note: In a letter published in the October 1967 edition of the Atlantic Advocate, Ann Hanley of White Rock, British Columbia (a granddaughter of Ann and James Andrew Doak) mentions “Uncle Horace Austin” as being the manager of the Doak gristmill. She goes on to say that “Uncle Horace loved children and took great pains to show us all the steps [in producing wool] from sheep to clothing. He had his human weaknesses, but [was] a lovely character nonetheless.” The couple had at least 5 children: Sarah, Hiram, Joshua, Charlotte, and Margaret. The 1901 Census indicates that Horace and Caroline are still living; their home is in the vicinity (perhaps next door) of the Murray House, owned by Amelia and John Lyall Murray. He is 81 and she is 75 (he gives his occupation as “Miller”).
1840 – October 20:  Susan (Munroe) Bamford, who had married John Bamford (one of the first Bamfords to settle in the Doaktown area) in 1818, dies at the age of 38, shortly after the birth of her 13th child.
1841 – January 6:  Report of American Commissioners released regarding the boundary line between New Brunswick and the State of Maine.
1841 – March 26: Sir William Colebrooke (November 9, 1787 – February 6, 1870) is appointed Lieutenant-Governor of New Brunswick.
1841- July 15: Mary Ann Bamford (b. 1819), daughter of Susan (Munroe) and John Bamford, marries Thomas Mooers (the ceremony was conducted by the Reverend James Tozer, a long-time Baptist minister on this part of the Miramichi). Thomas Mooers was a lumberman in Blissfield, but the couple moved to Milo, Maine circa 1850. They have five children but Mary and the last child died in childbirth on June 16, 1853 (Mary Ann was only 34). Thomas remarried and moved first to Wisconsin, then to Minnesota and finally to Oregon where he died in 1893.
1842 – July 21:  Elizabeth (“Betsy”) Bamford (b. 1820), the daughter of Susan (Munroe) and John Bamford, marries George Mersereau (b. 1817) when she was 22 and her new husband was 25. The ceremony is performed by the Reverend James Tozer. The Mersereaus had a farm on the south side of the Southwest Miramichi in an area known as Doaktown’s “South Road.” When the farmhouse was remodelled in the 1960s, the remaining portions of the original homestead were incorporated into the new house. Although it was sold to the Russell and Swim Lumber Company, it is still referred to as the “Mersereau Place.” In addition to farming, George was a prosperous lumberman and worked with his brother-in-law, John Thomas Bamford, under the name “Mersereau and Bamford.”
1842 – August 9:  The Ashburton Treaty defines the Maine-New Brunswick border.
1842 – December 23: Lewis Mitchell (2) (b. April 24, 1810 in Blissfield), the son of Susannah (Sutter) and William Mitchell; grandson of Sarah (Crabtree) and Lewis Mitchell, marries Catherine Donally Dixon (b. 1824), the daughter of Margaret (Sutter) and John Dixon, in Doaktown. Catherine and Lewis Mitchell have seven children, five of whom were born in Doaktown. Sometime after 1856, the family moved to Minnesota.
1843 – July 17:  The Fighting Election of 1843. Although there had always been a level of rivalry between the communities of Newcastle and Chatham, the enmity reached a political level when fights broke out between John T. Williston of Chatham (supported by local entrepreneur Joseph Cunard) and John Ambrose Street of Newcastle (backed by the prominent lumber baron, Alexander Rankin of Douglastown). The Rankin and Cunard factions literally fought the election in the streets of Newcastle and Chatham with sticks, stones, coal and other missiles, and the event became known as “The Fighting Election” (Street eventually carried the vote).
1843 – October 27: James A. Doak (b. 1820), the son of Mary (Symington) and James Doak, grandson of Agnes (Duncan) and Robert Doak Senior (nephew of Squire Robert Doak), marries Susannah Christine (“Christie”) Storey (b. 1826), the daughter of Christy Ann (McDonald) and Joseph Storey, the first known Storey on the Miramichi. The bride was 17, her husband was 23 and over the years the couple was to have 10 children.
1845 – March 27:  Susan Green (b. circa 1824 in Blissfield), the daughter of Phoebe (Mitchell) and John Green; granddaughter of Sarah (Crabtree) and Lewis Mitchell, marries Peter McDonald (b. 1818 in Blissfield). The couple had seven children.
1845 – April 25: Fredericton declared a city by Queen Victoria.
1846 – February 11: John Thomas Bamford (b. 1822), the son of Susan (Munroe) and John Bamford, marries Sarah Ann Tozer, the daughter of Reverend James Tozer, a long-time Baptist minister in the Doaktown area. The bride’s father performs the ceremony.
1847 -:  First bridge built in Doaktown by a Mr. Elliott who was paid a sum of $25.00 (some say by Squire Robert Doak) to put a slight crook in the road at the southern end of the bridge so that a large white elm tree, which was greatly admired, could be saved from destruction. The tree was eventually cut down in the 1940s when another bridge was erected; its wood was used to create communion tables for both the United Baptist Church and the St. Thomas United Church. The new bridge eliminated the need for the ferry which had been operated for many years by Henry Swim. It is said that “the old road leading to the river was slightly different than today’s version. It started at the top of Swim’s Hill but then it slanted down the hill and across the railway line at a point between the James Swim house and that owned by Ellis Mersereau. It then proceeded in front of Frank Swim’s home and on to the ferry.”
1847 – August 8: Jane Amos (b. 1822), the daughter of Mary (Lyons) and Thomas Amos, marries Walter Richard Price.
1847 – September 1: Robert Kirkland Doak (b. 1818), the eldest son of Jane (Kirkland) and Squire Robert Doak, marries Mercy Lavinia Green, the daughter of Sarah (Mitchell) and Andrew Green; granddaughter of Sarah (Crabtree) and Lewis Mitchell. Robert and Mercy had at least four children (two being twin girls). Sometime between 1863 and 1869, the family moved to Maine, allegedly to the Sebec/Dover/Milo area of Piscatiquis County.
1848 –: Joseph Cunard is unable to meet his financial obligations and leaves the Miramichi (it wasn’t until 1871 – some twenty years later — that all his business debts were paid off). This was a staggering blow to the area’s economy with hundreds of people being thrown out of work and many leaving for other parts of Canada and the US by the shipload.
1848 – March 30:  The City of Fredericton is incorporated.
1849 –:  Following the demise of the Cunard business on the Miramichi, William Smith of Newcastle advertises that he is contemplating fitting out a vessel for the port of San Francisco and invites inquiries from interested parties. At the same time, a Saint John firm advertises that a new clipper would sail for California on or about September 15th. Many took advantage of such opportunities and a few also went to Florida and the southern states where they reported that they found plenty of employment.
1849 -:  Elijah Fowler (b. 1827), the son of Nancy and Zacheus Fowler, marries Jane MacAllister, the daughter of Isabella (Ogilvie) and John MacAllister.
1849 – March 20: James Andrew Doak (b. 1824), the youngest son of Jane (Kirkland) and Squire Robert Doak, marries Ann Harvie. The couple have two children: (1) Robert Harvie Doak who married Christina Cameron; and (2) Margaret Jane Doak who married Thomas W. Flett.
1849 – July 24: William Byron Swim (b. 1824), the eldest child of Agnes (Doak Dawson) and Henry Swim, marries Caroline Amos (b. 1829), the daughter of Mary (Lyons) and Thomas Amos. The couple have 10 children and William gained a certain prominence being elected to the Provincial Legislature on the basis of his support for the Free School Act which was passed in 1874. He served numerous terms and it was said that there was no doubt about his politics – he was a strong Conservative.
1849 – September 25: The Teal sails from Saint John bound for California and the Gold Rush.
1849 – November 9: First telegraph message sent between Saint John and Halifax.
1849 – November 15: Charles Amos (b. 1824), the son of Mary (Lyons) and Thomas Amos, marries Sarah Ann Betts, daughter of Jennie (Lyons) and Samuel Betts (granddaughter of Jared Betts who was Ephraim Betts’ brother).
1850 – November 3:  Fredericton illuminated by gas lights for the first time.
1851 –: Census Year.
1851 – April 7: Launching of the clipper Marco Polo in Saint John.
1851 – April 23:  First Canadian stamp issued.
1851 – July 31:  Rebecca Ann Bamford, born 1827, the daughter of Susan (Munroe) and John Bamford, marries James A. Porter. Although the couple spent the next 10 years in the Doaktown area, by the time of the 1881 Census, they had moved to Charlotte County (St. Stephen Parish) where James Porter died in 1891. Rebecca subsequently moved to Minneapolis to the home of her son, where she died in 1894.
1851 – December 15: Robert Swim (b. 1826), second son of Agnes (Doak Dawson) and Henry Swim, marries Elizabeth Hill (b. 1833). The couple would go on to have six children before Elizabeth died in 1889. One of these children, Nancy, would marry James Russell and have a son, Robert (“Bob”) Swim Russell; another child, Henry Swim, would marry Isabella Hovey and have a son, Robert (“Bob”) Henry Swim. These first cousins would become the founders of Russell & Swim, a lumbering business which would be one of the primary employers in the Doaktown area from the 1930s to 1987 when the firm was bought by J. D. Irving Limited.
1852 – April 3: Alexander Rankin, a lumber baron and well-known politician from the Newcastle area, dies unexpectedly at the age of 63 in Liverpool while on a visit to England.
1852 – July 26:   Beginning of the record-making trip of the Marco Polo from Saint John to Australia (and back).
1853 – January 20:  First telegraph message between New Brunswick and Prince Edward Island via submarine cable.
1854 -: Until the mid-1800’s the present Village of Doaktown had no particular name. However, in 1854, the Government set out to rectify the matter and because Squire Robert Doak was the community’s most influential resident, the village became known as “Doakton” which was eventually changed to “Doaktown.”
1854 -:  Hiram Freeze, son-in-law of Squire Robert Doak, becomes postal way office keeper and postmaster in Doaktown, a position he would hold for the next 29 years until 1883.
1854 -:  Burke Archibald (b. 1821) comes to Doaktown to teach, boarding with Ann (Harvey) and James Andrew Doak. Archibald later marries Jacobina C. Porter, the daughter of Elizabeth (McLennan) and John Porter of Ludlow Parish, and has nine children. The Doaktown Review (1902) notes that “Mr. Archibald built a mill in what leisure time he had and ground potatoes. A few of Mr. Archibald’s pupils are still in this place and are among the most respectable citizens, two or these being Samuel Holmes and Sam Freeze. A few years later, Mr. Archibald found teaching too tame a business for his active business ability, and he went into lumbering and farming. He also built a large scow and freighted goods of all kinds between Doaktown and Newcastle . . .” In a handwritten note dated August 19, 1991, Burke Archibald is listed as one of the Deacons of the “Blissfield Baptist Church” in 1895, together with William Swim and George Mersereau, Senior.
1854 – August 31:  Sarah Mitchell Bamford (b. 1835), the daughter of Susan (Munroe) and John Bamford and great-granddaughter of Sarah (Crabtree) and Lewis Mitchell, marries Charles A. Stewart (b. 1828 in Taymouth) in Blissfield.
1855 –:  Hiram Freeze, son-in-law of Squire Robert Doak, appointed Justice of the Peace for the Doaktown area.
1856 –:  Frances (McNamee) Nelson, youngest sister of William McNamee and wife of John Nelson, dies leaving her husband and several small children.
1856 – September 26: The Chatham Gleaner records the death in Blackville of Doctor William Idair [sic] at the age of 55. The report noted that Dr. Idear was “one of our heaviest men, his actual weight being 430 pounds.” It is not known at this time where either the Doctor or his wife is buried. Note: It was Dr. Idear who gave his name to “Doctor’s Island.”
1856 – October 12:  Benjamin Storey (b. 1821), the eldest son of Christy Ann (McDonald) and Joseph Storey (the first known Storey on the Miramichi), marries Elizabeth Ann McDonald. The ceremony was performed by James A. Price, Justice of the Peace with one of the witnesses being James Doak, Jr.
1856 – October 23:  It is believed that the first person to be buried in the “Mitchell Cemetery” was Sarah (Crabtree) Mitchell, the widow of Lewis Mitchell, who died on October 23, 1856 at the age of 100.
1857 – April 5:  Squire Robert Doak (b. 1785) dies in Doaktown at the age of 72, reportedly from cancer of the face. His property and businesses are passed to his youngest son, James Andrew Doak, who would have been 33 years old at the time.
1857 – July 5:  George Munroe Bamford (b. 1829), son of Susan (Munroe) and John Bamford, marries Susan Travis (b. 1839), the daughter of Eliza and Peter Travis, born in North Esk Parish. The couple live with George’s widowed father, John Bamford, on the homestead farm (thought to be on the South Road in Doaktown) until John died in 1882. At that point, it is believed that George got into “financial difficulties” and decided to move his family to Houlton, Maine. Both husband and wife died in Maine, George from asthma in 1897 at the age of 68, and Susan in 1904, aged 65.
1857 – December 20: William Mitchell (b. 1779), husband of Susannah (Sutter) Mitchell, who had come to the Doaktown area in the early 1800s, dies at the age of 78.
1858 – June 24:  Mary Jane Storey (b. 1837), the third daughter of Christy Ann (McDonald) and Joseph Storey, the first known Storey to settle in the Doaktown area, marries James Lyons, the son of Sarah (Collings)  and Dan Lyons. Witnesses at the marriage ceremony are Jane Lyons and Enoch Bamford. Note (1): Enoch Bamford had as his first wife Jane Lyons so it is possible that James Lyons was his brother- in-law. Note (2): Mary Jane (Storey) Lyons probably died sometime within the next five years because in 1864 James is recorded as marrying Libby Bruce.
1858 – July 21:  William M. Doak (b. 1822), the second son of Jane (Kirkland) and Squire Robert Doak, marries Rachel Edison (b. 1834 in Bayham, Ontario). Note: Rachel was a cousin of Thomas Alva Edison, the inventor. William Doak was a Presbyterian Minister who eventually settled in Sarnia, Ontario.
1859 – February:  Margaret (“Mary”) Mitchell, wife of Stephen Mitchell, dies at the age of 42, leaving eight children including Valentine Mitchell (seen in this photo).
1860 -:  Reverend James Tozer, Baptist Minister in the Blackville, Blissfield, Ludlow area for 20 years, is succeeded by the Reverend William M. Edwards. Reverend Tozer, however, continues to assist with the work in the Boiestown area until 1877 when he was past 80 years of age.
1860 – January 23:  Charter of the University of New Brunswick officially enacted.
1861 -: Census Year.
1861 -:  Thomas Boies (b. 1789), founder of Boiestown, lumberman, mill owner and farmer, dies.
1861 –:  Mary Catherine McNamee, the youngest sister of William McNamee and the first wife of Maurice O’Donnell (1824-1895), a farmer and lumberman in Ludlow, dies at the age of 41.
1863 – August 6:  James Gilks (b. 1842), oldest child and first son of Nancy and John Gilks, the first Gilks to settle on the Miramichi, marries Maria Sutherland.
1863 – August 25:  James Andrew Doak (b. 1824), youngest son of Jane (Kirkland) and Squire Robert Doak and husband of Ann (Harvie) Doak, dies as a result of sunstroke at the age 39. His widow assumes the management of his affairs and successfully conducts the mill, lumbering and farming businesses until her only son, R. Harvie Doak (only 13 at the time of his father’s passing), is old enough to take over.
1863 – October 1:  Samuel Holmes (b. 1835), the son of Rachel (Betts) and Lewis Holmes, the first Holmes to settle in Doaktown, marries Lizzie Clouston (b. 1843), the daughter of Margaret (McKay) and Magnus Clouston of Derby. The couple was to have five children, one of whom was James Horatio Holmes and another was Lizzie Louise Holmes who married Lawrence Doak.
1863 – November 26:  Mary Jane Doak (b. 1845), eldest child of “Christie” (Storey) and James A. Doak (Squire Doak’s nephew), marries N. Green.
1865 – January 16:  Death of Joseph Cunard, Miramichi shipbuilder and one of the founding brothers of the Cunard Lines.
1865 – March 11:   A document entitled A Historical Sketch as to the Origin and Growth of the Doaktown Baptist Church (1830-1965) notes the following: “ . . . an ecclesiastical council was called by the members of [the] Blackville, Blissfield and Ludlow churches to convene at Doaktown to consider the advisability of creating a new organization in that place. This Council met and decided to proceed with the organization. The following resolution was passed: Resolved that we approve of this organization and on behalf of the Churches we represent, we extend our fellowship to the Blissfield Baptist Church worshipping at Doaktown [emphasis added] as a regularly constituted church of the same denomination.” It is believed that Reverend William M. Edwards oversaw the establishment of the Baptist Church at Doaktown.
1865 – July 10: David Young Bamford (b. 1839), the last of eight children born to Susan (Munroe) and John Bamford, marries Catherine Wilson, the daughter of Barbara (MacNab) and Thomas Wilson of Ludlow. David raised cattle and was the first in Doaktown to grow cultivated strawberries. He and Catherine had five children including twins Wilson Stillman Bamford and William Albert Bamford (William Albert would grow up to marry Annie Jane Mary Mitchell, the daughter of Charlotte (Betts) and Charles William Mitchell – his daughters were Katherine and Louise Bamford.
1865 – November 20: Jane (Kirkland) Doak, the widow of Squire Robert Doak, dies (her husband had predeceased her in 1857).
1867 –:  The United Baptist Church in Blissfield was dedicated with Reverend William Edwards being the first pastor and Joseph Dunphy the first Clerk. Early details are sketchy given that a fire in 1914 destroyed many homes in the Blissfield area as well as the records of the Church registry. Land for the building was donated by Andrew Green and it was first named the Upper New Salem Baptist Church by one of the residents, John MacDonald.
1867 -:  Richard Attridge (b. 1836), the son of Arthur and Margaret (Dawson) Attridge, marries Jane (“Jennie”) Freeze, the eldest daughter of Margaret (Doak) and Hiram Freeze. Note (1): Jennie was also the granddaughter of Squire Robert Doak, her mother being the Squire’s eldest child. Note (2): There is also some (unsubstantiated) suggestion that Richard Attridge’s mother, Margaret (Dawson) Attridge, was the daughter of Squire Doak’s sister, Agnes, by her first husband, Henry Dawson. Richard and Jennie had at least three children: There were three children who survived from Richard’s marriage to Jane (Freeze) Attridge: Arthur W. Attridge (who was to build, among other things, Doaktown’s “Hydraulic Fish,” Melvin Herman Attridge, and Adelaide (“Addie”) Attridge who married James Gilks and operated “The Gilks House.”
1869 -: Dr. Ferdinand Lorek Pedolin (b. 1849), the son of Elizabeth (Ross) and Peter Pedolin of Fredericton, begins a medical practice in Doaktown. Note: Dr. Pedolin was of Swiss and Dutch descent, and had married Mary Thompson Fowler, the daughter of Jane (MacAllister) and Elijah Fowler of Doaktown. It is believed Dr. Pedolin took part of his medical studies at Harvard University between 1867 and 1868. He was to remain in Doaktown off and on until 1885.
1869 – October 5:  The Saxby Gale devastates the Maritime Provinces.
1871 -: Census Year.
1871 – March 15:  William Swim appointed Justice of the Peace for Northumberland County.
1871 – May 10: Margaret (Doak) Freeze dies at the age of 61. She was the eldest child of Jean (Kirkland) and Squire Robert Doak, and had been married three times. Margaret had five (known) children: (1) Robert Doak Robinson and (2) William Robinson by her first husband, William Robinson; and (3) Samuel Freeze; (4) Jane Freeze; and (5) Margaret Freeze by her third husband, Hiram Freeze.
1871 – May 17: The Common Schools Act becomes law in New Brunswick.
1871 – August 2:  James Byron Mitchell (b. 1847), the son of Margaret (Urquhart) and Stephen Mitchell, marries Susan Jane Bamford, the daughter of Sarah Ann (Tozer) and John Thomas Bamford. The couple would go on to have three children: (a) Evelyn Mary Mitchell, b. 1872; (b) Everett Freeman Mitchell, b. 1876; and (c) Almira Estella Mitchell, b. 1883.
1873 -:  Christina (“Christy”) Doak (b. 1847), the daughter of “Christie” (Storey) and James A. Doak, marries Robert Fulton Ross and has three children: (1) Ann Harvie Ross; (2) James Loggie Ross; and (3) Margaret Stevens Ross.
1873 -: Samuel Freeze (b. 1843), son of Margaret (Doak) and Hiram Freeze, and the grandson of Squire Robert Doak, marries Isabella Agnes Fowler (b. 1853), the daughter of Jane (MacAllister) and Elijah Fowler. Sam and Isabella have five children: (1) Herbert Douglas; (2) Walter (3) May (4) Arthur and (5) Maud. Note: Isabella (Fowler) Freeze’s sister, Mary, was married to the local physician, Dr. Ferdinand Pedolin.
1873 – April 21: Henry Swim, widower of Agnes Doak (Squire Doak’s sister) and the father of William and Robert Swim, dies at the age of 81.
1873 – August 27: Marjorie Anne (“Annie”) Mitchell, daughter of Margaret (Urquhart) and Stephen Mitchell, marries James Robinson (parentage unknown at this time). The couple had at least five children: (1) Clara Bell Robinson; (2) Laura Jane Robinson; (3) Susan Medora Robinson; (4) Edgar Atheling Robinson; and (5) Ella Grace Robinson.
1873 – November 19: James Russell (b. 1845), the younger of two sons born to Elizabeth (McNamee) and William Russell Senior, marries Nancy Swim (b. 1852), the eldest daughter of Elizabeth (Hill) and Robert Swim. James and Nancy were the parents of Robert Swim Russell (b. 1892). Note: James’ older brother was William Russell, Junior (b. 1841) whose children included Myles Russell, Frank Travis Russell (owner of Doaktown’s “Russell House”), Amy Russell (who married William M. Murray), Ernest M. Russell (father of Vi MacKinnon), “Ad” Russell (whose daughter Helen married Robert Swim), and Ethel Russell who married Lorne Dixon.
1874 -: William Swim, eldest child of Agnes (Doak) and Henry Swim, and husband of Caroline (Amos) Swim, is elected to the New Brunswick Legislature as a Conservative MLA. He would serve until 1878.
1874 –:  The first Catholic Church in the Upper Miramichi area is built in Boiestown.
1874 -:  Hiram Freeze marries as his second wife Nancy Ann Harris, the daughter of Frances (Mitchell) and Peter Harris. The groom was 56; the bride 35. Note: Hiram’s first wife, who had died in 1871, was Squire Doak’s eldest daughter, Margaret (Doak) Freeze.
1875 -:  The Intercolonial Railway links Halifax with Montreal. At the time, a sign was erected naming the Newcastle stop as “Miramichi” but it was speedily corrected.
1875 –:  Walter M. Buck, civil engineer and railway man, surveys the route for what was then being called the Miramichi Valley Railway between the Intercolonial Railway line and Devon on the outskirts of Fredericton.
1875 -: Doaktown’s “Murray House” believed to have been built about this time. Located close to the Doaktown railway station, it was operated as a hotel and restaurant by the family of John Lyall Murray and later by Saunders Price. Train passengers could have their orders for lunch telegraphed from Blackville so that it would be ready and waiting at the Murray House when they arrived at the Doaktown station. At some point, a wooden sidewalk was built from the hotel to the station to make the short walk from the station to the hotel and back again more pleasant. Many of the engineers who built the railroad and many of the men who worked on the train also enjoyed the homey atmosphere of the Murray House over the years.
1877 – July 4:  John Ellis marries Alma Swim, the daughter of Caroline (Amos) and William Swim (he was 30, she was 22). In the 1901 Census, Ellis gives his occupation as “hotel keeper” so it is quite possible that he was involved in the management of the Aberdeen Hotel when it came into the possession of his wife’s first cousin (Henry R. Swim) in the early 1890’s.
1877 – September 2: Robert Kirkland Doak (b. 1818), eldest son of Jean (Kirkland) and Squire Robert Doak, and husband of Mercy Lavinia (Green) Doak, becomes a United States citizen. The Doak family, together with Mercy’s parents, Sarah and Andrew Green, had moved to Maine sometime between 1863 and 1869.
1878 – July 7:  Justus Rolland Betts born, the son of Mary Ann (Mitchell) and David Betts, grandson of Jane (Lyons) and Samuel Betts, and the great-grandson of Jared Betts.  Justus was also the younger brother of Charles B. Betts (who was to become the father of Mary Jane, Min and Marple Betts).
1878 – July 13:  Lewis Holmes, the first Holmes to settle in the Doaktown area (1817), the husband of Rachel (Betts) Holmes, and the father of 11 children, dies at the age of 81. It is said that “Lewis was well liked. He had strong religious principles and was a trustee of the Presbyterian Church. Although troubled with infirmities, he was about his property every day. On the last day of his life, he is said to have risen as usual, dressed himself, sat down on the sofa and expired.”
1879 – January 9: Land is conveyed by Mrs. Ann Doak, widow of James Andrew Doak, for the construction of a Presbyterian Church in Doaktown (later the site of St. Thomas United Church). “For the sum of one dollar, 24 square rods of land on the north side of the Highway Road on Lot 45 were conveyed forever to be used for no other interest or purpose whatsoever than the construction of the said Presbyterian Church.”
1879 – February 6: Susannah (Sutter) Mitchell, widow of William Mitchell, dies at the age of 91. Her husband had predeceased her in 1857.
1879 – May 25: Max Aitken, Lord Beaverbrook, born in Maple, Ontario (he was later to spend the majority of his childhood and teens in Newcastle, New Brunswick).
1879 – November 19:  Margaretta (“Maggie”) Idear, the daughter of Dr. William Idear (the physician in the Blackville area for whom “Doctor’s Island” was named) marries Alexander Allison. The ceremony was performed by the Reverend William Edwards at the home of Thomas Sutherland of Blissfield. It is said that the couple lived in Doaktown and are buried in the Baptist Cemetery (although their gravesites have no visible markers).
1880 -:  Samuel Betts, Senior dies at the age of 80. He was son of Jared Betts and the great-nephew of Ephraim Betts. Husband of Jane (“Jenny”) Lyons.
1880 – July 1:  An “Apron Fair and Picnic” is organized by the ladies of the Presbyterian congregation in Doaktown as a fund-raising effort toward the construction of the new church (the proceeds were to go toward the purchase of pews and carpeting). The picnic was held on July 1 “on the island below the bridge” with a “temporary bridge being constructed between the mainland and the south end of the island.”
1880 – August 25: Melvin Herman “Herm” Attridge born, the son of Richard D. Attridge and his first wife Jane (Freeze) Attridge. Note: Herman would have been a great-grandson of Squire Robert Doak through his mother. “Herm” was a general merchant and appears to have had some kind of contract with the railway in that he collected the goods that were dropped off by rail in Doaktown and delivered them to his store from which people would come to collect them (this arrangement evidently lasted for over 35 years). On September 13, 1920 when he was roughly 40 years old, he married Lillian (“Lee”) Irene Price (b. July 22, 1880), the daughter of Isabel Maria (Spencer) and Saunders Price. The couple had one child, a daughter named Isabel Price Attridge, who married Lloyd George Donald on October 13, 1949.

In his pamphlet published in 1919 objecting t o the manner in which New Brunswick’s Intoxicating Liquor Act was being enforced in Doaktown, Henry Swim alleged that Dr. John Wier, the local physician, and Herman Attridge had “organized to defeat justice.” He went on to say: “These are the same gang who cheated me out of getting anything for the water that supplied the parsonage built here two years ago. They have enjoyed the use of that water for two years and paid nothing for it, although the contract price was only $25.00 – practically a gift – but Attridge allowed himself to be made a tool of by Wier because Wier wanted to supply the water for the manse at a cost of $200.00, thus cheating the church of which they are members out of $175, rather than pay me the $25 that they had agreed to. Attridge is a man who should have been in France defending the Empire the last four years, but escaped by hiding behind his age or under the petticoat of the lady who said she would not allow him to go to the war, although this country has paid a lot of money to train him for a soldier, but when soldiers were wanted, he was a cowardly slacker. Perhaps these two men will enter an action against me for defamation of character, as they have lots of money to prosecute it, but they had no money to give to the Knights of Columbus Army Hut Fund or the Salvation Army Million Dollar Fund for the protection of returned soldiers who risked their lives to save them from slavery. . .

“Herm” is remembered as having suffered a stroke at some point in his life – he had trouble speaking and there is thought to have been some paralysis as well. Despite his disabilities, Herm evidently never missed meeting the daily train with his freight wagon. Lillian (Price) Attridge died on May 9, 1938 while her husband, Herman, passed away seven months later on December 5, 1938.

1880 – December 22:  Henry R. Swim (b. 1855), son of Elizabeth (Hill) and Robert Swim, grandson of Agnes (Doak) and Henry Swim, marries Margaret Jane (“Maggie”) Robinson (b. 1861), the daughter of Mary (Mountain) and Robert Doak Robinson, granddaughter of Margaret (Doak) and William Robinson, and the great-granddaughter of Jean (Kirkland) and Squire Robert Doak. The couple are to have at least two children: Edna Grace Swim (b. 1881) and Minnie Swim (b. 1883) before Maggie died in 1887.
1881 –:  Census Year.
1881 -: Samuel Freeze goes back to Colorado to try to organize a company to develop his property claims there but fails and returns home to Doaktown.
1881 -:  Richard D. Attridge, farmer, prospector and adventurer, begins to raise Ayrshire cattle on his Doaktown farm.
1881 -:  Maria (Sutherland) Gilks, the wife of James Gilks, and some of her children die of “black diphtheria.”
1881 – December 12: Thomas Parker (b. 1855) is appointed a Justice of the Peace for Northumberland County. He was married to the former Maria Porter and had one son, Willard. Thomas was a supporter (in conjunction with Otto Hildebrand and Henry H. Stuart) of the Northumberland People’s Union and was also associated with the newspaper, The Gem Press.
1882 -:  Elijah Fowler, husband of Jane (MacAllister) Fowler and, according to the Dictionary of Miramichi Biography, one of the most respected men on the Miramichi,” dies at the age of 55.
1882 – February 16:  The present Legislative Assembly Building opened in Fredericton.
1882 – February 20:  John Bamford, husband of Susan (Munroe) Bamford, dies.
1882 – June 4:  Rebecca Ann Bamford II (b. 1861), the daughter of Sarah Ann (Tozer) and John Thomas Bamford and the granddaughter of Susan (Munroe) and John Bamford, marries Samuel Betts Amos, the son of Sarah Ann (Betts) and Charles Amos and the nephew of Caroline (Amos) and William Swim. Note: Rebecca’s younger sister, Mary Irene, married Samuel Amos’ brother, James Alexander Amos, four years later in 1866. Rebecca and Samuel Amos lived in Houlton, Maine where Samuel was a carpenter.
1882 – December 27:  Mary Jane Swim (b. 1850), the eldest child of Caroline (Amos) and William Swim, marries Thomas H. Lovell (b. 1853) of Kingsclear, York County. Shortly thereafter, the couple move to Menominee (Dunn County), Wisconsin.
1883 – June 20:  Peter Smith Mitchell (b. 1866), the son of Margaret (Urquhart) and Stephen Mitchell, marries Isabella (“Bella”) Beek (b. 1861), believed to be the daughter of Nancy (Pratt) and Joseph Beek, Junior. Peter and Bella would have at least three children: (1) Manford Mitchell (b. 1886); (2) Walter Mitchell (b. 1890); and (3) Edith Mitchell (b. 1899). Note: Edith would grow up to marry Robert Swim Russell.
1883 – June 29: First sale of angling licenses in New Brunswick.
1883 – July 1:  Henry Swim assumes the role of postmaster for the Doaktown area, succeeding Hiram Freeze, who has held the position since 1854.
1884 –:  Alexander (“Boss”) Gibson begins construction of the Canada Eastern Railway from Gibson (Devon), extending the line through the Nashwaak Valley, across the watershed between the Nashwaak and the Miramichi Rivers, and entering the Miramichi Valley at Boiestown. In the meantime, J. B. Snowball is laying tracks westward from Chatham.
1884 – July 30: Hiram Freeze, husband of (1) Margaret Doak Freeze and (2) Nancy Harris Freeze, dies in Doaktown at the age of 64.
 1885 -: Dr. Ferdinand Pedolin, who had been Doaktown’s doctor for a number of years, moves to Newcastle with his wife, Mary (Fowler) Pedolin and her sister Lily Fowler. Note: Lily became Newcastle’s first telephone operator. Dr. John Wier (pronounced “wire”) takes over the Doaktown practice – he and his family live in a hotel situated about a mile from the Village operated by Burke Archibald, but later take up residence in a house in the central part of the Village now owned by the Weaver family. The hill behind the house was very popular with local children for wintertime sliding and was referred to “Dr. Wier’s hill.”
1885 – May 20:  William Charles Robinson (b. 1859), the son of Mary R. (Mountain) and Robert Doak Robinson, the great-grandson of Jean (Kirkland) and Squire Robert Doak, marries Mary Elizabeth Mersereau (b. 1867), the daughter of Augusta (Cobb) and John A. Mersereau. The couple have three children, all born in Doaktown: (1) Purdy Edgar Robinson (b. 1886); (2) Raymond George Robinson (b. 1891) and (3) Ina Florence Robinson (b. 1893). The family may have lived in the home opposite the former Doaktown Primary School which is believed to have been owned by the Doak family. However, in the mid-1890’s, the Robinsons moved to Bartlett, New Hampshire. Note: Mary (Mersereau) Robinson’s parents had been married in Bartlett so there may have been family ties to the area.
1885 – Summer:  Over 2,000 men are employed in the construction of the Canada Eastern Railway connecting Devon and Chatham. By the end of the year, 60 miles of railroad had been completed, the Gibson force having reached a point above Cross Creek while the Chatham crew (under the direction of J. B. Snowball) had reached Blackville.
1885 – September 9:  James T. Doak (b. 1859), son of Christie (Storey) and James A. Doak, grandson of Mary (Symington) and James Doak, marries Helen (“Nellie”) Clearwater. The couple has at least two children: a daughter, Catherine E. Doak and a son, Charles Everett Doak.
1885 – October 28:  Robert Harvie Doak (b. 1850), the son of Ann (Harvie) and James Andrew Doak, grandson of Squire Robert Doak, marries Christina Cameron from Black River. The couple had a son (Hubert Edison Doak) and two daughters, one of whom was Margaret M. Doak, a school teacher who lived in the family home for over 40 years until she died in 1979. Harvie Doak spent most of his lifetime operating the various mills on the Doak family property and conducting the farm which he inherited from his father when he was only 13. He was known as “quite a mechanical genius,” building a store in 1888 in which he sold agricultural machinery and farm supplies.
1886 –:  It is reported that Sam Freeze, son of Margaret (Doak) and Hiram Freeze, husband of Isabella (Fowler) Freeze, had discovered particles of gold on Stewart Brook, a tributary of the Taxis River just up river from Boiestown. When not prospecting, Freeze runs survey lines for property owners and operates steam-powered shingle and clapboard mills and a sash and door factory.
1886 – January 7:  Newspaper report: Blackville presents quite an animated appearance today, due to the arrival from Chatham of a special train consisting of two first class, one second class, a refreshment and other cars of the Northern and Western Railway [subsequently known as the Canada Eastern Railway], laden with leading Chatham gentlemen . . . The people of the village and the surrounding country are delighted with the working of the railway and the new telegraph line, and . . . look forward to an era of prosperity in spite of general hard times. The road [i.e., the railway] is a great accommodation to the lumbermen as well as to the people up river generally. It saves some 30 miles in supplies for the camps . . . People are looking forward to a weekly mail service . . . as the daily trains now run regularly from each end of the road at Chatham and Fredericton to Blackville and Boiestown respectively, leaving a gap of 38 miles only to be covered by stage. Before this time next year, the company will have the road opened for traffic all the way through . . .”
1886 – June: “Jenny” (Lyons) Betts, the widow of Samuel Betts, Senior, dies at the age of 81.
1886 – June 8:  Mary Irene Bamford (b. 1863), daughter of Sarah Ann (Tozer) and John Thomas Bamford, granddaughter of Susan (Munroe) and John Bamford, marries James Alexander (“Alex”) Amos, the son of Sarah Ann (Betts) and Charles Amos. Note: The marriage took place four years after Mary’s older sister, Rebecca Ann Bamford II, married Alex’s older brother, Samuel Betts Amos. Mary Irene and Alex Amos have four children: Luke Byron Amos, Sarah Eulalia Amos, Nettie Mary Amos, and John Bamford Amos.
1886 – July 16: Stephen Mitchell (b. 1806), the son of Susannah (Sutter) and William Mitchell and husband of Margaret (Urquhart) Mitchell dies in Newcastle. The Newcastle Union Advocate reports that “. . . Stephen Mitchell of Blissfield (North. Co.) died at the Exchange Hotel, Newcastle (North. Co.) early Friday morn., 16th July. Mr. Mitchell arrived in town the day previous, accompanied by his son, James Mitchell, with the intention of taking up a load on Friday. About 3 o’clock in the morn. he told his son he did not feel well and to get him a drink of water which he did. He expired shortly after. Heart disease is the supposed cause of death. He was within two or three weeks of being 80 years of age.” 
1886 – October 18: Charles Benjamin Betts (b. 1860), the oldest of eight children born to Mary Ann (Mitchell) and David Betts marries Frances (“Fannie”) Marie Whitney. The couple had three children: (1) Mary Jane Betts, born October 2, 1887; (2) Minetta (“Min”) Mabel Betts, born August 15, 1895; and Marple Wilson Betts, born June 24, 1904. Note: “Marp” was named after two Baptist ministers: a Reverend Mr. Marple who served the community during the Spring of 1903, and a Reverend C. P. Wilson, who was in Doaktown from 1903-1907.
1886 – November 17: Daniel Alexander Doak (b. 1858), the son of Susannah (Storey) and James A. Doak, marries Laura E. Bruce (b. 1870). The couple had a home on the South Road where they raised ten children including Lawrence Doak (father of Arden Doak), Frances Doak (grandmother of Venus and Calvin Lyons), Gordon Doak (father of Hartford Doak), etc.
1887 -:  The rail line between Fredericton and Newcastle is finally completed around 1887. At the time, the line is known as the Canadian Eastern Railway; it later became part of the Intercolonial Railway (ICR) and finally the Canadian National Railway (CNR).
1887 – January 27: Mary (Clouston) Holmes, the daughter of Margaret and John Clouston and the wife of David Holmes, dies in childbirth (the baby was stillborn).
1887 -March 21: Maggie Jane (Robinson) Swim, the daughter of Mary (Mountain) and Robert Doak Robinson, and the wife of Henry Swim, dies at the age of 26. It is believed that Maggie and Henry had at least two daughters before her untimely death: Edna Grace Swim (b. 1881) and Minnie M. Swim (b. 1883).
1887 – November 25: Reverend William M. Doak (b. 1822), second son of Jane (Kirkland) and Squire Robert Doak, and the husband of Rachel (Edison) Doak, dies in Sarnia, Ontario at the age of 65.
1888 -: Nancy (Fowler) Decantillon, the mother of Elijah Fowler, dies in Doaktown and is buried with her son in the United Church Cemetery in Newcastle. The Union Advocate noted that she had been the “hostess of Decantillon’s hotel in the days of stagecoaches and had kept the best house on the river.” Note: Her son, Elijah, husband of Jane (MacAllister) Fowler, had predeceased his mother in 1882.
1888 –:  Jacob (“Jake”) Mersereau (b. 1854), the son of Elizabeth (Bamford) and George W. Mersereau, Senior and a brother of Colonel George Mersereau, sets up a “photo salon” at the front of Swim & Sons Store in Doaktown which was then across the railroad tracks in the vicinity of the local railway station. Jake had been in the photography business in both Chatham and Fredericton – the Public Archives of New Brunswick is said to have a collection of over 600 of his photographs taken between 1890 and 1920, including scenes of sawmills and lumbering operations on the Miramichi.
1889 -: Richard Attridge (b. 1836), the widower of Jane (Freeze) Attridge, is remarried, this time to Anne W. Perley, the daughter of Mary Jane (Manderson) and William Bryant Perley of Chatham. Richard and Anne have three children (Muriel, and twins Mary and Richard) in addition to his children (Arthur, Herman and Adelaide) by Richard’s marriage to Jane (Freeze) Attridge.
1889 – January 28: Otto Hildebrand (b. 1861) marries Amelia A. Wilson. Otto was a general merchant who, it is believed, operated his first store on the site of the former Swim & Sons. Later on, he built another store and became known as the chief supplier of flour and grain in the Doaktown area. He and Amelia had one son, Karl Hildebrand (b. October 13, 1892).
1889 – June 5:  Edgar Betts (b. 1865), the son of Margaret (Clouston) and Nelson Wier Betts, marries Almeda Jane Stewart (b. circa 1864), the daughter of Sarah (Bamford) and Charles Stewart. The couple have nine children including Charles Manford Betts (the future grandfather of Norman Betts); Marvin Betts; and Grace Betts (future wife of Marple Betts). Edgar was a farmer whose family home was in Storeytown.
1889 – June 10: James Horatio Holmes (b. 1866), the son of Lizzie (Clouston) and Samuel Holmes and the grandson of Lewis Holmes (the first Holmes to settle in the Doaktown area), marries Mercy Ann (“Mattie”) Price (b. 1869), the daughter of Margaret (McEachern) and Edmund Price of Parker’s Ridge. Note: Saunders Price was Mattie’s brother. James was the owner of J. H. Holmes Co. and the couple would go on to have nine children including: Akerley Holmes, Hazel Holmes (mother of Horatio “Raysh” Murray), Samuel Holmes II, Gretta Holmes (who married Clifford Rutledge), and Helen Holmes (mother of Hudson and Newton Carroll).
1889 – October 21: Elizabeth (Hill) Swim, wife of Robert Swim, dies at the age of 58 and is buried in what is now the United Church Cemetery at the foot of the Grand Lake Road in Doaktown.
1890 -: Reverend William M. Edwards, long-time Baptist minister in the Doaktown area, dies.
1890 – April 8:  Christie (Storey) Doak, wife of James A. Doak, dies in Doaktown at the age of 64. One of her sons is believed to be the Joseph Doak who co-edited the 1902 Doaktown Review; another was Daniel Doak.
1890 – April 8:  Rachel (Betts) Holmes, the wife of Lewis Holmes (the first Holmes to settle in the Doaktown area), dies at the age of 81 (her husband had predeceased her in 1878).
1891 – September 2: William MacKay Murray (b. 1865), possibly the only son of Amelia Ann (MacKay) and John Lyall Murray, marries Amy Russell (b. 1872), the daughter of Ephemia (Porter) and William Russell, Junior. The couple would have at least five children: Elsie, Annie, John, Grace, and Jessie Murray. Note: Amy (Russell) Murray was also the sister of Frank Russell (owner of the “Russell House”) and of Ernest Russell (father of Vi and Wilson“Bing” Russell).
1891 – : Construction begins on St. Andrew’s Anglican Church in Doaktown.
1891 – November 3: Robert Swim (b. 1826) marries as his second wife Frances Ross (b. 1851). Robert’s first wife, Elizabeth (Hill) Swim, had died two years previously. The couple had a daughter, Agnes Doak Swim.
1892 – : The structure which originally housed the Doaktown United Baptist Church is lost in a fire. “A business meeting was held immediately at the home of William Swim and the decision made to re-build at once.” In the interim, according to the Historical Sketch,” church meetings were held “in the Bamford School house, the Archibald School house, private houses and at last, through the courtesy of our Presbyterian brethren, we met in their Church.”
1892 – April 13: In an article published in the Union Advocate, it is noted that “a law suit between Mr. Harvey Doak as plaintiff and Henry Swim as defendant was settled last week by Mr. Swim paying $600 with costs, and furnishing Mr. Doak with a full and ample apology. The suit was the outcome of some slanderous remarks made by Mr. Swim accusing Mr. Doak of knowing his (Swim’s) store [had been] set on fire.”
1892 – May 8:  Lizzie (Clouston) Holmes, wife of Samuel Holmes, Senior and the mother of, among others, James Horatio Holmes, dies of pneumonia, aged 49.
1892 – May 24: The recently-completed St. Andrews Anglican Church was dedicated in Doaktown.
1892 – June 1:  Jane Betts (b. circa 1870), the daughter of Mary Ann (Mitchell) and David Betts, marries Robert Lucas (b. 1866). The couple had at least four children: Mary Lucas (b. 1900); Jessie May Lucas (b. December 3, 1904 in Doaktown); Walter C. Lucas (b. February 6, 1908 in Carroll’s Crossing); and Helen Grace Lucas (b. December 22, 1912). Note: Jane Betts was an older sister to Agnes Betts who was to marry Charles Bamford on August 24, 1892.
1892 – June 29:  John Frederick Carr (b. 1856), the son of Mary Ann (Hinchey) and Frederick Carr, marries Emily Melissa (“Lizzie”) Stewart (b. 1868). It is reported that Lizzie worked at the Murray House Hotel in Doaktown where she met her husband who was doing some portaging for the woodsmen who stayed at the hotel. The couple had at least eight children including Ralph, John, Willy, Helena, Danny, and Charlotte.
1892 -August 24: Charles Campbell Bamford (b. 1856), the son of Sarah (Tozer) and John Thomas Bamford, marries as his second wife Agnes Isabel Betts (b. 1873), the daughter of Mary Jane (Mitchell) and David Betts.  Charles had previously been married to Maggie S. Brown, who had died in 1891, possibly in childbirth (there had been one child from that first marriage – Florence (“Flossie”) Jane Bamford). Charles and his second wife, Agnes, had four children, one of whom was Leona M. (“Nonie”) Bamford. It is believed that the Charles Bamford house stood roughly where Eldon Clowater’s house on the South Road now is.
1893 -:  The first Catholic Church in the area was built in Blissfield.
1893 -:  The first known sawmills to be built in the Blackville area were established in 1820 by two Scotsmen, Robert Doak and Alexander MacLaggan. Around 1893, Alexander (“Boss”) Gibson from the Nashwaak area took over the sawmills and built a steam mill in the same general area.
1893 -: It is believed that Doaktown’s Aberdeen Hotel was built in 1893. However, whether it was built by Henry Swim or constructed by someone else and later acquired by Henry is not known at this time. The Dictionary of Miramichi Biography notes: “The facts concerning [the Hotel’s] financing and construction remain obscure, but in December 1894 it was reported as rumour in the Miramichi Advocate that Henry Swim and his wife were planning to take over management of ‘the ‘Aberdeen Hotel,’ as indeed they did. The Aberdeen was “a three-storey, Klondike-style hotel, false- fronted with many verandas and balconies decorated with spool railings.”
1893 – January 9: Emeline Henderson Doak (b. 1870), possibly the daughter of Matilda (McKiel) and Thomas S. Doak, marries Alexander Leslie Munn (b. 1865).
1893 – March 29:  It is believed that William (“Billy”) Cummings (b. 1870) came to Doaktown in the late 1890s. He worked for the railroad but later built a store that was known as ‘Cumming’s Store.’ He married Grace Donald (b. 1868) and continued to work on the railroad while his wife and her brother, Everett Donald, managed the store. In his later years, Billy sold the store to Everett who specialized in groceries and clothing. Later Cumming’s Store was sold to Raymond Christie who was the first to operate it under the “Stedman’s” name. W. R. “Bill” MacKinnon subsequently bought the operation and then sold it to Byron and Brent Taylor in 1976. The store was demolished in a fire on May 28, 1995.
1893 – April 18:  John Allen Mersereau (b. 1871), the son of John T. Mersereau, marries Augusta R. Cobb (b. 1871) in Bartlett, New Hampshire. The couple moved to Doaktown shortly after their marriage to manage the farm owned by John’s grandparents, Elizabeth (Bamford) and George Mersereau. John and Augusta would have eight children, two of whom were Ralph and Roger Mersereau.
1893 – July 2:  The new United Baptist Church in Doaktown is dedicated (the church had had to be rebuilt to replace the building lost in the fire of 1892). The ceremony was presided over by the Reverend James A. Porter.
1893 – October 11: John T. Sutherland marries “Hermie” Weaver. The couple would have at least six children, two of whom were Claude and Lyle Sutherland.
1893 – November 17:  Robert Doak Robinson (b. circa 1834), the son of Margaret (Doak) and William Robinson, grandson of Squire Robert Doak, dies. He had been predeceased by his daughter, Maggie (Robinson) Swim, the wife of Henry Swim, in 1887.
1894 -:  A bell for the rebuilt United Baptist Church is installed and inscribed as follows: “Blissfield Baptist Church 1895. M. P. King, Pastor. Deacons: Burke Archibald, George Mersereau, Senior, William Swim [Church Clerk?]. Church Membership: 35. Made by McShane Bell Foundry, Baltimore, MD 1895.
1894 -:  Harvie Doak (grandson of Squire Robert Doak) erects a building in which to manufacture farm implements.
1894 – May 9:  Margaret (“Maggie”) Jane Holmes (b. 1873), the daughter of Lizzie (Clouston) and Samuel Holmes, Senior, marries Collins Bradford (“Brad”) Ogilvie, who had been born in Petitcodiac, the son of Mary (Baskin) and William Ogilvie.
1894 – October 24:  Henry Swim marries as his second wife Isabel (Hovey) O’Donnell. Henry had lost his first wife, Maggie (Robinson) Swim, in 1887 while Isabel had been previously married to an O’Donnell who had supposedly died around 1889. Henry had at least two daughters (Edna and Minnie) from his first marriage and Isabel also had two (Ellie and Millie O’Donnell). As a couple they would have two children of their own: Robert Henry Swim (b. 1895) and Leola Swim (b. 1901).
1895 -: George (“Geordie”) Arthur Wathen (b. 1862 in Richibucto) arrives in Doaktown to take up his position as the first principal of the Doaktown Superior School, a post he was to hold for 24 years (he also served as a Justice of the Peace). A former student had this to say: “Mr. Wathen. . . was a teacher to whom respect was automatic – one did not question his authority and one soon found out what was the better part of valor . . I had him for only two years before he retired, but those years were rigorous, to say the least.”
1895 -:  Mary (Fowler) Pedolin, the daughter of Jane (MacAllister) and Elijah Fowler, and the wife of Doaktown’s former doctor, Ferdinand L. Pedolin, dies in Newcastle (she was less than 40 years old).
1895 – January 13: Mary Irene (Bamford) Amos, wife of Alex Amos and the mother of (among others) Luke Amos, dies at the age of 32.
1896 -:  Henry and Frank Swim build a new sawmill and sash and door factory. This was destroyed in a fire a year later but was soon rebuilt on a larger scale than before.
1896 – January 7:  Samuel Freeze sells about 40 square rods of land (for $1.00) to the Doaktown Presbyterian Church (now St. Thomas Church) for use as a cemetery. At the time, Mr. Freeze was serving as a deacon of that church.
 1896 – January 22:  David Holmes (b. 1840), the son of Rachel (Betts) and Lewis Holmes, the first Holmes to settle in Doaktown, marries as his third wife Fannie Mitchell (b. 1851), the daughter of Mary Ann (Abernathie) and Charles Mitchell. David had been previously married to Mary Clouston (who died in childbirth in 1887) and to Elizabeth Ann Betts who died of cancer in 1894.
1896 – March: James A. Doak (b. circa 1820), the son of Mary (Symington) and James Doak, grandson of Agnes (Duncan) and Robert Doak Senior, dies, His wife, Christy (Storey) Doak had predeceased him in 1890.
1896 – March 20:  The Town of Chatham is incorporated.
1896 – May 18: Elizabeth (Bamford) Mersereau, the wife of George Mersereau, dies at the age of 76.
1896 – July 28: Women’s Missionary Aid Society was organized by the ladies of the Doaktown Baptist Church.
1896 –September 2: Eliza Russell (b. circa 1869), the daughter of Ephemia (Porter) and William Russell Junior; granddaughter of Elizabeth (McNamee) and William Russell Senior, marries Benjamin J. Slipp. The couple were to have two sons, Frank and Harold.
1896 – October 25:  Nathaniel Beek (b. 1875) marries Christina (“Christy”) Margaret Munn (b. 1871).
1897 -:  Anne (Perley) Attridge, the second wife of Richard Attridge and the mother of Muriel, Mary and Richard Attridge, Junior, dies at the age of 39.
1897 – January 24:  Edward George Storey (b. circa 1877) marries Agnes Amanda Arbeau. The couple would have at least four children: Evelyn Mary Storey (b. 1899); Thomas Storey (b. 1905); Harry Edward Storey (b. 1906); and Laura May Storey (b. 1907).
1897 – March 17: Horace M. Austin (b. 1873), believed to be the son of Isabelle Caroline (Storey) and Horace Austin, marries Christina Lucy Arbo (b. 1874). The couple had at least one child, Elsie May Austin (b. 1900) and lived in the “Russeltown” area of Doaktown.
1897 – November:  Sam Freeze decides to join in the gold rush to the Yukon, and advertises his mill and factory for sale.
1898 -:  Doaktown’s physician, Dr. John Wier, puts his house up for sale stating that he is planning to join the Klondike Gold Rush.
1898 -: An acre of land is secured as a site for a Baptist Church parsonage and in the following year work is begun on the building.
1898 – Winter:  Henry and Frank Swim set up a portable mill on Muzzerall Brook where they sawed spool bars from birch logs.
1898 – March 19:  Robert Swim, the husband of (1) Elizabeth Hill and (2) Frances (Ross), dies at the age of 74. Robert was the father of (among others) Henry Swim, Nancy Swim (who had married James Russell), and Elizabeth Swim (who had married George Hinton).
1898 – August 10: George Adams (“Ad”) Russell (b. 1877), the youngest child of Euphemia (Porter) and William Russell Junior, marries Mary (“May”) Eliza Parker. The couple had at least six children including Helen Russell (who married Bob Swim), Walter Russell (who married Laura Storey), Elsie Russell (who married Stewart Betts and Bert Miner), and Ruby Russell (who married Hartford Doak).
1898 – August 24:  Vernon Manning Weaver (b. 1877), the son of Isabella and David Weaver, marries Mabel Macrae (b. 1879). The couple would have three sons: Robert Weaver, Vernon Manning Weaver and Cecil Macrae Weaver. It is believed that Vernon operated a small farm and a silver fox farm in the upper part of the Village.
1899 – : Henry and Frank Swim secure a contract to build a bridge across Mill Brook at Nelson’s Hollow.
1899 – May 24:  Grace Saunders Wilson (b. 1880), the daughter of Lydia L. (Avery) and John Turnbull Wilson, marries Ernest M. Russell (b. 1873). The couple was to have six children including Violet E. Russell (who married William MacKinnon, Senior), Wilson (“Bing”) Russell and Mary Russell (who married Ashley Swim).
1899 – June 11:  Emery A. Betts (b. 1880), the son of Mary Ann (Mitchell) and David Betts (and a brother to both Charles B. Betts and Justus Betts), marries Ida Stewart (b. 1870 in Taymouth), the daughter of Sarah (Bamford) and Charles Stewart. Ida worked at the Aberdeen Hotel in Doaktown. As a married couple, she and Emery lived in the Alexander Amos house and operated an ice-cream parlour from that location for many years. Emery also worked in the employ of the Holmes and Sons lumber mill. The couple had four children: Merle W. Betts, Sarah (“Sadie”) Betts, Irene Betts, and Eldon Reeves Betts.
1899 – June 23: The Town of Newcastle is incorporated.
1899 – July 12:  Magnus Luke Betts (b. 1870), the son of Margaret (Clouston) and Nelson Wier Betts, marries Mary Minetta (“Minnie”) Murphy (b. 1872), the daughter of Margaret (McCarthy) and George Murphy. Magnus and his wife had a home known to some as the Manny Weaver house, and to others as “Elmer’s Superette.” At some point in time, Magnus sold the property to Chester Mitchell who operated a small store on the site.
1900 – April 7  Ernest Carroll born, the son of Catherine (Stewart) and Howard Carroll.  Married Helen Frances Price Holmes, the daughter of Mercy A. (Price) and James H. Holmes, on April 27, 1925.

Employed as a night watchman at his father-in-law’s mill and a part-time labourer, Ernest also operated a barber shop. He was said to have been a notable singer who performed in many concerts.  He and Helen had eight children:  Carvell, Hudson, Alberta Mattie; Nan, Newton, Guy, Georgia and James.  Ernest died on July 19, 1935 when he was only 35.

1900 – Summer:  The steam sawmill owned by Henry and Frank Swim running full time.
1900 – August 31: William Wesley Gilks marries Honorah May Beek. The couple had at least two children – twin girls named Olive Irene Gilks and Marie Louise Gilks, born on June 16, 1907.
1900 – October 17:  Irvine Thompson Robinson (b. circa 1882), son of Elizabeth (Mitchell) and William Thompson Robinson (great-grandson of Squire Robert Doak), marries Mary Edna Robinson. The couple had one child, Olive Jean Robinson (b. 1901) who would grow up to marry Walter Parker.
1900 – December 20:  Burke Archibald, long-time teacher, lumberman and farmer in Doaktown, husband of Jacobina (Porter) Archibald, dies at the age 79. A former deacon of the Baptist Church, he is survived by his wife and at least six children.
1901 –:  Census Year.
1901 -: John Lyall Murray (born in Scotland in 1828), lumberman, carpenter and hotel keeper, dies at the age of 73. His wife, Amelia (MacKay) Murray takes over the operation of the “Murray House” until her death in 1904 when the establishment is sold to Saunders Price.
1901 – January 22: Death of Queen Victoria.
1901 – May 14: Opening of the world’s longest covered bridge in Hartland.
 1902 -:  Otto Hildebrand erects a “handsome and expensive” new combination home and store in the centre of Doaktown.
1902 – March 30: Mr. and Mrs. James Wm. Swim, Mrs. Frank D. Swim and her 12-year old son, Earle Swim, are baptised in the Doaktown Baptist Church.
1902 – June 18:   William (“Willy”) Edward Carr born, the son of Emily Melissa (Stewart) and John Frederick Carr.  Married Thelma Cowie on December 23, 1936 and raised four children:  Eldon, Kenny, Carrie and Marian.  Willy is believed to have made his first fiddle at the age of 12, using a wooden cigar box bridged with gut strings, a hand-carved finger board, and four wooden pegs.  In the years that followed, he made dozens of violins that were played by both amateurs and professionals throughout the eastern part of Canada – this despite the fact that he had lost three fingers during an accident at the Holmes mill in 1934.  The story is told that at one point Willy made a fiddle from wood taken from a demolished Baptist parsonage and called it “a great instrument for playing hymns on.”
1902 – November 5: Justus Rolland Betts (b. 1878), the son of Mary Ann (Mitchell) and David Betts, marries Etta Blanche Weaver (b. 1882), the daughter of Grace (Mersereau) and James T. Weaver. The couple are to have 15 children.
1903 – August 23: James Alexander (“Alex”) Amos marries as his second wife Dora E. Mitchell, the daughter of Frances and John Mitchell. Note: Alex’s first wife, Mary (Bamford) Amos, the mother of his four children, had died in 1895. Alex had lived in Amostown until his second marriage when he moved to Doaktown where he was a carpenter, a woodsman and the operator of a bicycle shop. He was also the Lounsbury Company representative for a time.
1903 – September 2:  Walter S. L. Freeze (b. 1877), the son of Isabella (Fowler) and Samuel Freeze, marries Edna Grace Swim (b. 1881), the daughter of Maggie Jane (Robinson) and Henry Swim. The Dictionary of Miramichi Biography (p. 138) notes that Walter was a contractor and builder in Doaktown who worked part-time as a woods guide. He was also known as a reckless and fearless driver back in the days when automobiles were “new” – he loved to see how fast he could get his car to go and how fast he could drive from the highway over the lane to his house.
1904 -:  Elizabeth (McNamee) Russell, wife of William Russell, Senior (and the sister of William McNamee who came to New Brunswick in 1807 and gave his name to the McNamee community), dies at the age of 104. Elizabeth’s son, James Russell, was to die at the age of 59 in March, 1904.
1904 -:  William Albert Bamford (b. 1876), the son of Catherine (Wilson) and David Young Bamford (and twin brother of Wilson Stillman Bamford) leaves for Minnesota where he spent the next four years working for a large lumbering company. Note: Although William had trained as a teacher, it is said he was unable to take up the career on a permanent basis owing to “health concerns.”
1904 -: For several years beginning circa 1899, the toll station of the New Brunswick Telephone Company was installed in Cumming’s Store with Mr. Cumming himself acting as the company’s agent. Around 1904, however, Dr. John Wier purchased Cummings’ system and established a number of extensions.
1904 – January 19: Reverend Thomas George Johnstone, a long-time Presbyterian minister in the Blackville-Doaktown area, dies at the age of 76 while visiting at the Harvie Doak home (his wife had predeceased him by only six weeks).
1904 – March 19: James Russell (b. 1845), the husband of Nancy (Swim) Russell, dies at the age of 59. Note: James’ nephews included Myles Russell, Frank Travis Russell (owner of the Russell House), Amy Russell (who married William M. Murray), Ernest M. Russell (father of Vi MacKinnon), “Ad” Russell (whose daughter Helen married Robert Swim), and Ethel Russell who married Lorne Dixon. James’ own children, Rena and Bob Russell, were 19 and 12 respectively at the time of their father’s death (Bob is said to have left school at this time).
1904 – March 21: Earthquake is felt in New Brunswick.
1904 – August 10:  William B. Somerville (b. 1879) marries Etta Margaret Sturgeon (b. 1886), the daughter of Annie (Weaver) and Robert Sturgeon.
1904 – September 26: The steamer May Queen is shipwrecked in Grand Lake.
1904 – November 3: George Mersereau (b. 1817), husband of “Betsy” (Bamford) Mersereau, dies at the age of 87. Betsy had predeceased her husband in 1896 and both are buried in the United Baptist Cemetery adjacent to the church.
1904 – November 9:  Amelia (MacKay) Murray, the widow of John L. Murray, dies. The “Murray House” is sold to Saunders Price who keeps it in operation until the 1920s. Note: Saunders was a brother to Mercy Ann Price, the wife of James Horatio Holmes.
1905 -:  Nancy (Harris) Freeze, the daughter of Frances (Mitchell) and Peter Harris, and the second wife of Hiram Freeze, dies at the age of 65.
1905 -:  The Canada Eastern Railway, which had been built by J. B. Snowball and Alexander Gibson from Chatham to South Devon, officially becomes part of the Intercontinental Railway.
1905 – March 8:  Adeline (“Addie”) Attridge (b. 1884), the daughter of Jane (Freeze) and Richard D. Attridge, marries James Alexander Gilks. Note: Addie and James were later to become the owners of the “Gilks House,” which was visited by King George VI and Queen Elizabeth on June 13, 1939 during their Canadian tour.
1905 – May 15: Marvin Adrian Betts born, the son of Almeda (Stewart) and Edgar Betts.  Married Grace Robinson, the daughter of Hannah (Regan) and Melvin Robinson, on February 11, 1925.  Marvin was one of the “carpenter’s helpers” who worked on the construction of the North County Fur Breeders Ranch (later the site of the Miramichi Anglers Association) in 1930 under the direction of head carpenter, Arch MacDonald of Storeytown.   He became an expert craftsman and is credited with designing and building the decorative arches that were erected at either end of the Village to mark the visit of the British Royal Couple in 1939.  Marvin died in 1978 at the age of 73 while his wife Grace passed away in 1987, aged 81.
1905 – December 22: David Young Bamford (b. 1839), the husband of Catherine (Wilson) Bamford and the father of five children including twins Wilson Stillman Bamford and William Albert Bamford, dies at the age of 66 of a heart condition.
1906 -: After selling his initial operation to Dr. John Wier in 1904, William C. Cumming organizes another company and installs a telephone system in competition with Dr. Weir with approximately twenty subscribers and from eight to ten miles of pole line.
1906 -:  Our Lady of Lourdes Catholic Church is built in Doaktown in 1906. Reverend Murdock and Reverend Crumbley travel from Blackville to preach in the Doaktown Parish once a month until 1917.
1906 – March 1:  Evelock Bedford Gilks (b. 1883), the son of Charlotte (Astle) and Zacharias Gilks, marries Annie A. Weaver, the daughter of Grace (Mersereau) and James T. Weaver and a sister of Etta Weaver who married Justus Betts
1906 – August 2:  Samuel Holmes, Senior, the husband of Lizzie (Clouston) Holmes, dies at the age of 71 after suffering from partial paralysis for almost two years. His wife had predeceased him in 1892.
1906 – September 24:  Walter J. S. Parker born, the son of Effie (Scott) and F. Willard Parker.  Walter’s grandfather, Thomas Parker, was a Justice of the Peace but that didn’t keep Walter out of trouble.  One Halloween, he and some friends took a buggy that his father used to deliver the mail and hauled it up into the branches of a huge elm tree.  Eventually the culprits were arrested and called up in court.  When Judge Parker looked down over his glasses and saw his grandson, he sighed and said, “Case dismissed!” and that was the end of it.  Walter married Olive Jean Robinson, the daughter or Mary (Robinson) and Irvine Robinson in September of 1927.  Two years later they purchased the home which was to be theirs for the rest of their lives, next to the Doaktown Primary School at the beginning of the South Road.  The couple had four children:  Joyce, Huntley, Purdy and Ray.  Walter Parked passed away at the age of 80 on December 26, 1986; his wife Olive died aged 92 on December 31, 1992.
1906 – December 23: Daniel (“Danny”) Titus Carr born to Emily Melissa (Stewart) and John Frederick Carr.  Married Helen Grace Lucas, the daughter of Jane (Betts) and Robert Lucas, on December 28, 1933.  The couple had five children before Helen died at the age of 30 on March 21, 1942.  It was said that Danny’s greatest love was the River and whenever he wasn’t busy building homes, he was guiding sportsmen and fishing his private salmon pool.  He was noted as an outstanding guide and became famous for his hand-crafted salmon flies which he tied for over 50 years.  Danny originated the hugely popular Ginger Streamer in the 1940s which was most effective on spring salmon.  He guided for the Gilks House in Doaktown and for Tom Boyd in Blackville before becoming an outfitter himself.  Danny died on October 14, 1973 and seven years later was inducted posthumously to the Atlantic Salmon Museum’s Hall of Fame in 1986.
1907 – June 26:  Lorne Dixon marries Ethel Russell, the daughter of Euphemia and William Russell. Junior. Lorne Dixon owned and operated a garage situated adjacent to the “Russell House” and to a store once operated by Perley Clowater and later by Manny Weaver. He was also one of the main guides at Deepwood Lodge on the Cains River which was managed by his brother-in-law, Frank Russell.
1907 – October 6:  Richard Attridge, husband of (1) Jane (Freeze) Attridge and (2) Anne (Perley) Attridge, dies at the age of 71.
1908 -:  John Thomas Bamford, husband of Sarah Ann (Tozer) Bamford) and the business partner of George Mersereau, dies at the age of 86.
1908 – Summer:  William Cumming sells his telephone system to the N.B. Telephone Company, who also purchased the system owned by Dr. John Weir (the total number of subscribers when the Company opened their exchange was 37). The Company’s exchange was installed in Mr. Cumming’s building and Mr. Cuming was appointed local manager, a position he held until his death in 1926
1908 – September 30:  Winnifred Katherine Jonah born, the daughter of Alma (West) and John Wilson Jonah.  Married David William Betts, the son of Etta (Weaver) and Justus Betts, on December 19, 1928.  At the time of their marriage, Winnie had been working as a telephone operator while David was employed at the Holmes Mill. The Depression followed very quickly and, during an interview conducted in 1994, Winnie remember its bitter impact – the newly-weds had bought a home at the upper end of the Village but when David lost his job, they had to give it up.  They refused to go on the “dole” despite their bills and eventually made the decision to move to “The Lots” along the Grand Lake Road.  David found work at the Russell and Swim Mill but as Winnie pointed out, “he left on Sunday afternoon and didn’t get back until Saturday night.”  Because it was often difficult to find a teacher for the Grand Lake Road school, Winnie often filled in.   The couple had four children (Ervine, Jean, Wilson and Jim) and the family lived on “The Lots” for ten years.  Winnie was very involved with the United Baptist Church in Doaktown, playing a major role in the Women’s Missionary Society and taking over as Church Clerk when L. B. Amos retired.  Winnie died in 2001 at the age of 83 (her husband had predeceased her in 1988).
1909 – May 7:  David Betts, husband of Mary Ann (Mitchell) Betts and father of (among others), Charles Benjamin Betts, Justus Roland Betts and Emery Betts, dies at the age of 77 and is buried in the cemetery beside the Doaktown Baptist Church.
1909 – June 16:  James William (“Billy”) Mitchell (b. 1873), the son of Charlotte (Betts) and Charles William Mitchell, marries Laura May Simms, the daughter of Christina (Storey) and William Simms. The couple are to have two children, Leon (b. 1911) and Arthur (b. 1914) before Laura dies in the flu epidemic of 1918. Billy worked in the local J. H. Holmes and Company sawmill for many years.
1909 – June 16:  Frank Allen Crocker (b. 1888), the son of Christie (Gilks) and Timothy Crocker, marries Edith Irene Bartlett. According to Arden Doak, Frank Crocker was a laborer who lived in a pink house opposite the Myles Russell property. His wife ran off with another man, leaving Frank with three daughters and a son (Vera, Ada, Thelma and Norman) to raise. Frank, together with his brother Percy, worked for J. H. Holmes Co. He was a masterful violin player and his daughter, Thelma, was to acquire the same skill.
1909 – June 23:  Luke Byron Amos (b. 1887), the son of Mary Irene (Bamford) and Alex Amos, marries Ella Alfreta Mitchell (b. 1887), the daughter of Mary Jane (Betts) and William C. Mitchell. Luke and Ella would have seven children: Carrie, Cecil Byron, Donald Wilmot, George King Amos, Nelson Charles John, William Alexander and Arthur Addison Amos. Luke is believed to have built what came to be known as “the banker’s house” sometime around 1924 where the family lived for over 20 years. He worked as a carpenter for many years and later established the L. B. Amos General Store that several of his sons operated. He also served as a Justice of the Peace and Notary Public.
1909 – June 30: Bessie May Brown (b. 1884), the daughter of Spurgeon Brown, marries James A. Ballard. Bessie was a sister to (among others) Gordon Brown who married “Nonie” Bamford and to Walter Brown who married Mabel Betts.
1909 – September 6: Thomas Chalmers (b. circa 1888, possibly in Belledune), marries Martha May (“Mattie”) Betts (b. 1889), the daughter of Hester (McKinnon) and Samuel David Betts. The Chalmers had six sons all of whom (with their father) were interested in sports, especially baseball. The family lived in a house on Doaktown’s main street, just above the Anglican Church manse – Thomas was Doaktown’s CNR dispatcher and station agent for many years, as well as an elder of the United Church. Note: Thomas Chalmers was an uncle of Doctors Everett and Robert Chalmers, long-time Fredericton physicians.
1909 – December 12:  Jennie Morehouse (b. 1891), the daughter of Annie and Will Morehouse (believed to be the granddaughter of Jacobina and Burke Archibald) marries Frank Ernest Austin.
1910 – March 9:  Percy Crocker (b. 1885), the son of Christie (Gilks) and Timothy Crocker, marries Laura Lyons (b. 1889), the daughter of Alice (Parker) and Joseph Lyons. In his book, Arden Doak talks about the three-act plays that were performed in Doaktown’s Orange Hall with Percy Crocker being the “star” in many of these theatrical productions. Arden goes on to describe Percy as a short, bow-legged man, who worked as a laborer, mostly with J. H. Holmes and Company. He had one adopted son, Elwood.
1910 – July 11:  Ellis Raymond Mersereau (b. 1882), the son of Lavinia (Weaver) and Edward Mersereau, marries Mary Bird (“Birdie”) MacDonald. Ellis and his wife lived next door to James Swim and his wife Harriet in what was then a two-storey yellow house now occupied by Ian Dickison and his family.
1910 – November 14:  George Thomas Doak (b. 1876), the son of Hannah (Ward) and David Doak, and the husband of Dora Inez (Mitchell) Doak, dies at the age of 34. George was also the father of Wallace, Aubrey, Sterling, and Delbert Doak.
1911 – June 27:  Annie Jane Mary Mitchell (b. 1878), the daughter of Charlotte (Betts) and Charles William Mitchell, marries William Albert Bamford (b. 1876), the son of Catherine (Wilson) and David Young Bamford. Annie had trained as a nurse in Massachusetts and graduated in 1905 (see The Bamford Saga, pp. 294-295). William was the twin brother of Wilson Stillman Bamford with whom he formed a partnership (“Bamford Brothers”) to run a pulp and lumbering business. The couple are to have two daughters, Katherine and Louise Bamford.
1911 – August 20: David Holmes (b. 1840), the son of Rachel (Betts) and Lewis Holmes, and the husband of (1) Mary (Clouston) Holmes; (2) Elizabeth Ann (Betts) Holmes; and (3) Fannie (Mitchell) Holmes, dies at the age of 71.
1911 – September 19: Mary (“May”) Jacobina Morehouse (b. 1894), the daughter of Annie and Will Morehouse, granddaughter of Jacobina and Burke Archibald, marries Ralph Sherman Holmes (b. 1889), the son of Mercy Ann (Price) and James Horatio Holmes. May was to be at the center of a scandal involving the Reverend Sterling Stackhouse, the local Baptist minister with whom she had an illegitimate child (her husband divorced her in 1917).
1912 – April 14: Wreck of the Titanic off the Grand Banks of Newfoundland.
1913 – August 13:  Alexander (“Boss”) Gibson dies in Marysville.
1916 – January 10: Kenneth Major Jonah born, the son of Alma (West) and John  Wilson Jonah.  His siblings were Reg, Charlie, Winnifred and Jean Jonah.  Ken was a lifelong resident of Doaktown where he worked as a carpenter – primarily for W. K. Swim – for 44 years.  Married Vera Pauline Crocker, the daughter of Edith (Bartlett) and Frank Crocker, on June 10, 1941.   The couple had three children, Kenneth A., Willa and Paula.  Vera was Ken’s girlfriend and working at The Gilks House in 1939 when King George VI and Queen Elizabeth made their famous stop in Doaktown.  Vera swore Ken to secrecy when she learned about the royal plans but the information made it possible for him to have a “front row seat” as the motorcade reached the hotel.  Vera passed away in 1970.  Ken later married Juanita (Betts) Kamermans and died at the age of 87 on December 28, 2003.  He was one of the founders of Doaktown’s Atlantic Salmon Museum and is fondly remembered by all who knew him.
1918-: Just as the world thought the tragedy of death at war was coming to an end, the Spanish influenza arrived killing millions of people. It was said that as many as 50,000 Canadians died of this airborne disease that probably came to this country with those coming back from World War I. Many a soldier survived the horrors of the battlefield only to lose his life to this flu. In October of 1918 the Minister of Health for New Brunswick outlawed the gathering of more than five people. Schools and churches were closed for five weeks in an effort to combat the spread of the disease. The illness would hit young adults with cold-like symptoms that quickly led to pneumonia. Often within a few hours the person was dead. Some people who appeared healthy in the evening were found dead in their beds in the morning. In all, it is estimated that New Brunswick had close to 36,000 cases of the flu with 1,394 deaths.
1918 – May 24:  Canadian women win the right to vote in federal elections.
1919 – August 27: Amos Henry Dickison (born in Tabusintac on April 25, 1884) marries Minetta (“Min”) Betts, the daughter of Fannie M. (Whitney) and Charles B. Betts of Doaktown.  Amos, or “Dick” as he was most commonly referred to, operated a general store at the north end of the Village.  He was interested in sports and said to be “very excitable,” particularly when listening to championship boxing events on the radio.  He also acted as an agent for several sportsmen who visited the area, arranging for accommodation, guides, etc.  It is remembered that although Dick’s hands always shook, he could draw the straightest of lines without benefit of a ruler.  He was an excellent artist who was responsible for designing the logo used by the Doaktown Mounties hockey team.  Dick and Min had three sons:  Willis, Harland and Robert.  Dick died at the age of 93 in 1967 while Min passed away in 1970, aged 75.
1920 – July 1:  Women school teachers are given equal pay with men.
1920 – July 6: The New Brunswick Electric Power Commission established by Order-in-Council.
1924 -: Albert Dickison opened his pharmacy in Doaktown, the same year that he married Anne Rita MacCallum (November 11, 1924) and just shortly before long-time Doaktown physician, Dr. John Bonar Hamilton, opened his practice in the Village.  The Dickisons had eight children:  William, Ian, Charles, Louise, Beverley, James, Barbara and Joyce.  In addition to his work at the drug store, Albert was very sports-minded and served as the official umpire for local baseball games.
1925: Dr. John Bonar Hamilton sets up practice in Doaktown, succeeding Dr. John Wier.  John was born in the Campbellton area in 1900 and studied medicine at Queen’s University in Kingston, Ontario.  Shortly after his arrival in the village, he met Janet Wilhelmina Holt, a nurse who had come to the community to nurse her sister, Mrs. Harry Russell, who had contracted influenza.  John and Janet married and had three children:  John, Gertrude and Janet.  Dr. Hamilton served the Doaktown community well, passing away in 1973
1925 – April 3: Bertha Christina Amos born, the daughter of Annie May (Lyons) and Lemuel Hardy Amos.  On June 6, 1945, married Wallace Ward Doak who was to begin a very successful tackleshop in Doaktown in the 1930s (the shop continues to this day under the management of the couple’s youngest son).  Bertha and Wallace had three children:  George, Anna and Jerry.  Bertha passed away on April 24, 2009 at the age of 84 (her husband had predeceased her in 1979).
1927 – July 1: Provincial Police Force is established.
1939 – June 13: King George VI and his consort, Queen Elizabeth, stop for lunch at Doaktown’s “Gilks House,” on the way by car from Newcastle to Fredericton as part of their 1939 tour of Canada. This visit marked the first time in history a reigning British monarch had visited Canada and certainly the first time one had visited Doaktown. Later, Queen Elizabeth (by then the Queen Mother) would say in a speech during another visit to Canada, “It is now some 46 years since I first came to this country with the King, in those anxious days shortly before the outbreak of the Second World War. I shall always look back upon that visit with feelings of affection and happiness. I think I lost my heart to Canada and Canadians, and my feelings have not changed with the passage of time.”